Author Topic: photomechanic, photoshop, photoshelter basics question  (Read 4463 times)

Offline otto37

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
photomechanic, photoshop, photoshelter basics question
« on: March 31, 2009, 03:56:30 PM »
Hello, total photography beginner here. New camera, software, photo website; information overload.

What I want to do properly, and this may just be a simple photoshop question, or maybe someone can advise if I should be doing this a different way.  Sport photography, shooting in jpeg format, uploaded to Photoshelter for sale by digital download or print.

1. shoot photo, camera set to take JPEG.
2. download cards to my pc laptop, Vista operating system.
3. look at photos and add information to the pictures I want to keep, in photo mechanic.
4. in photo mechanic, select photo, and select edit, opening photo in photoshop cs3.
5. edit, mainly cropping, and basic color adjustment, such as using the Image, Adjustments, Auto Levels.
Then(question?):
6. save photo in photoshop properly, for use on photoshelter?
7. upload to photoshelter.

Saving: In photoshop, after cropping and auto level adjustment, I have selected; File, Save As, Save as Copy, Format, ?
What format should I save to?

I have been told by one person to save as Tiff, another PSD, still another JPEG. (once this is decided,then.....)

Then I want to upload the file to Photoshelter.

Photoshelter will recieve many different files, all mentioned.  However, when someone buys a photo by digital downlaod, it is sent to them in a high resolution JPEG.

So the next question is, why would I want to save the file in a Tiff or PSD, that will be uploaded to Photoshelter, only to be made into a JPEG again, when someone buys it?

Are the basic steps I have outlined with regard to using Photomechanic correct?

Should I be doing this a different way?

I'm hoping someone is using Photomechanic, Photoshop, and Photoshelter, and will understand my questions. Thank you in advance.  Mike