Author Topic: Copy Crop  (Read 5063 times)

Offline JAS Photo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 393
    • View Profile
    • JAS Photo LLC
Copy Crop
« on: April 26, 2009, 08:31:06 PM »
Sometime I shoot multiple similar images but want to upload a tighter crop. Is it possible to copy a crop from frame to frame, or store a crop like a caption and hit apply. Not to have to redraw it on each image.

Thanks
Joe
Joe Sorrentino
JAS Photo LLC
http://www.JASPhoto.com

Offline mattkirwan

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Matt Kirwan
Re: Copy Crop
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2009, 12:31:47 PM »
Interesting idea....


Sometimes when image quantity is low (eg: the subject ran into their house and you only got two frames off) - you often still need to apply several crops from the same image. A full length, a mid shot and a head shot ALL from the same image.

I currently:

Draw a crop - Save.
Redraw the crop - Save.

How about introducing 'Multiple Crops' - maybe different coloured boxes.
Crop 1 - White.
Crop 2 - Blue.
Crop 3 - Green.

All can be drawn and saved simultaneously. Is that even possible??!!

I know you can save crop ratios into a snapshot, but how about taking it one step further so when you click on the saved snapshot crop, a scaled, centred crop appears (already drawn) for you to begin slight adjustment.
That should be that little bit quicker??

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20596
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Copy Crop
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2009, 01:38:14 PM »
Interesting idea....


Sometimes when image quantity is low (eg: the subject ran into their house and you only got two frames off) - you often still need to apply several crops from the same image. A full length, a mid shot and a head shot ALL from the same image.

I currently:

Draw a crop - Save.
Redraw the crop - Save.

How about introducing 'Multiple Crops' - maybe different coloured boxes.
Crop 1 - White.
Crop 2 - Blue.
Crop 3 - Green.

All can be drawn and saved simultaneously. Is that even possible??!!

I know you can save crop ratios into a snapshot, but how about taking it one step further so when you click on the saved snapshot crop, a scaled, centred crop appears (already drawn) for you to begin slight adjustment.
That should be that little bit quicker??

I could see making the saved crop part of the crop tool itself.  As for having multiple crops, it becomes a user interface issue when it comes time to save/export especially when some images have multiple crops and some don't: which one should be used?  I understand the need, I just don't see solutions.

-Kirk

Offline mattkirwan

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Matt Kirwan
Re: Copy Crop
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2009, 01:46:42 PM »
Quote
I could see making the saved crop part of the crop tool itself.

It could prove quite handy having a preset crop appear centred and covering 40-50% of the frame...
...it would save one click and one mouse movement!! (I don't however think it will be worth the hours of your time to implement).

Quote
comes time to save/export especially when some images have multiple crops

Fair point. It could become quite messy (especially when returning to the image at a later date). The only workaround would be some sort of 'checkbox' system - ticking the white, blue or green boxes if you want any or all of them cropped - that would then process the ticked crops accordingly.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2009, 02:03:18 PM by mattkirwan »

Offline JAS Photo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 393
    • View Profile
    • JAS Photo LLC
Re: Copy Crop
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2009, 12:07:36 AM »
Kirk - Any chance of my original request to copy a crop from frame to frame?

Thanks
Joe
Joe Sorrentino
JAS Photo LLC
http://www.JASPhoto.com

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20596
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Copy Crop
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2009, 06:59:27 AM »
Kirk - Any chance of my original request to copy a crop from frame to frame?

Possibly at some point.

-Kirk

Offline TiggerGTO

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: Copy Crop
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2009, 08:27:39 PM »
If it helps bump up the priority, I would like the ability to copy the same crop across multiple images.  It would be extremely helpful for sports action sequence bursts.

Danny

Offline JAS Photo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 393
    • View Profile
    • JAS Photo LLC
Re: Copy Crop
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2009, 07:13:29 AM »
Hi Kirk -

Is the "Possibly at some point." any closer?

Thanks
 
Joe Sorrentino
JAS Photo LLC
http://www.JASPhoto.com

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20596
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Copy Crop
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2009, 09:21:32 AM »
Joe,

Is the "Possibly at some point." any closer?

I suppose you're asking if the 4.6.2 update will have this feature?  That answer would be no.

Possibly in a future version.

-Kirk

Offline ChrisB

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Copy Crop
« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2009, 03:14:32 PM »
On a similar note, my wish list includes a crop frame with movable vertical and horizontal cursor lines.  Crop borders and cursors are stored.

The application is to ensure a subject feature in a sequence of shots always appears in the same location in the frame: the crop with cursor lines can be slid over the image until the crosshairs lie over the critical spot.

Chris

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20596
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Copy Crop
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2009, 08:49:23 PM »
Chris,

On a similar note, my wish list includes a crop frame with movable vertical and horizontal cursor lines.  Crop borders and cursors are stored.

The application is to ensure a subject feature in a sequence of shots always appears in the same location in the frame: the crop with cursor lines can be slid over the image until the crosshairs lie over the critical spot.

Can you please illustrate with a mockup image?

-Kirk

Offline ChrisB

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Copy Crop
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2009, 06:44:23 PM »
Hello Kirk,

Please find attached my illustration of the movable cursor concept.  The choice of subject matter really isn't a good example of why such a feature is needed, but it's clear for the purposes of showing how the implementation might go.

Real world applications include - preparing a sequence of images for binding in a book (or e-book), particularly if the images include blocks of text that should appear in the same place on each page.  You can also imaginge a need to correct for handheld camera movement when ideally the camera should have been tripod mounted.

I have included some additional suggestions in the attachment.

I realise that this functionality lies on the margins of PM's remit, but there seems to be some desire that quick & easy framing of shots before uploading.

Related tools such as de-skewing to straighten horizontals, or correction of geometric distortion are of course already available in other products, but the cursor-assisted crop frame would be unique, I believe.

Chris

[attachment deleted by admin]