Author Topic: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit  (Read 15455 times)

Offline danclem

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« on: September 20, 2009, 12:20:14 PM »
Is anyone running Photo Mechanic on a WIndows 7, 64 bit box? I built a new computer last weekend, and this seems to be the only program I am having issues with. It will not execute. I am also using the new Intel 7, eight core 920 processor. Creative Suite CS4 really hauls with the eight core processors.

Thanks for any words of wisdom.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21567
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2009, 03:55:41 PM »
Is anyone running Photo Mechanic on a WIndows 7, 64 bit box? I built a new computer last weekend, and this seems to be the only program I am having issues with. It will not execute. I am also using the new Intel 7, eight core 920 processor. Creative Suite CS4 really hauls with the eight core processors.

We've had many reports of success in running Photo Mechanic 4.6.1 on Windows 7, Vista, and XP in 64-bit OSes, though Photo Mechanic is not a 64-bit application.

What version of Photo Mechanic are you running?

-Kirk

Offline Ed Zirkle

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • never grow up...
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2009, 10:22:27 AM »
Hi Kirk...

new Win7 64bit install, i7 920 w/6 gigs...  yea!!!

So...  got a new code and downloaded the 4.6.1 file to install...

I get, repeatable, PM is running, please quit PM and then install...

Went and deleted all files in all temp folders, deleted the Camera Bits folder from x86...

Oh, and I did the run-as for Vista and Admin...

Same thing...

Suggestions...

Thanks...

Ed
Feed the Shark...

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21567
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2009, 10:47:27 AM »
Ed,

new Win7 64bit install, i7 920 w/6 gigs...  yea!!!

So...  got a new code and downloaded the 4.6.1 file to install...

I get, repeatable, PM is running, please quit PM and then install...

Went and deleted all files in all temp folders, deleted the Camera Bits folder from x86...

Oh, and I did the run-as for Vista and Admin...

That just indicates that you have some window open (perhaps a window from Windows Explorer) that has the title 'Photo Mechanic' in it.  Make sure you close all unnecessary windows with the name 'Photo Mechanic' in them.

HTH,

-Kirk

Offline Ed Zirkle

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • never grow up...
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2009, 12:21:01 PM »
That also includes Internet Explorer...  wow...  got it installed...  now to make it run...

and it runs... ;~]

now to get the config done on the new install
Feed the Shark...

Offline Ed Zirkle

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • never grow up...
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2009, 03:41:47 PM »
Greetings from the other coast...

Well PM works great on Win7 64 bit...  well except for the ingesting part... 

I can open PM and ingest the disk...  but auto play does not like the setup...

See error gif...

Win Photo Gallery sees the NEF files, Capture NX2 opens the files, WPG will open a NEF to view and PM sees all the files...

I can change the default for NEF to PM, but I still get the same error message...

As far an I can see there are no 64bit codecs for Win7 yet...

It is a minor thing given working on the bleeding edge...  just wondered if I had missed something...

Ed


BTW, lunch is off till late Oct...

[attachment deleted by admin]
Feed the Shark...

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21567
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2009, 09:47:35 PM »
Greetings from the other coast...

Well PM works great on Win7 64 bit...  well except for the ingesting part... 

I can open PM and ingest the disk...  but auto play does not like the setup...

See error gif...

Win Photo Gallery sees the NEF files, Capture NX2 opens the files, WPG will open a NEF to view and PM sees all the files...

I can change the default for NEF to PM, but I still get the same error message...

As far an I can see there are no 64bit codecs for Win7 yet...

It is a minor thing given working on the bleeding edge...  just wondered if I had missed something...

Our AutoPlay handler needs to be updated for 64-bit Windows OSes.

The error message is displayed by what application?

-Kirk

Offline Ed Zirkle

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • never grow up...
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2009, 08:35:17 AM »
Hi Kirk...

I have a Lexar cardreader and when I place the card in the reader MS auto play comes in to play...

In the past, Vista 32bit, I would place a card in the reader and auto play would ask if I wanted to ingest using PM, yes and then images ingested...

Now the first thing that comes up is the error message I attached...  nothing else...

So, long story short...  I think Windows 7 64 bit does not recongnize PM as a program to use to ingest with...

Side note...  Win7 also has a free program called Virtual PC w/XP mode...  I have run it on other Win7 installs...  very nice, but you are in XP SP3 32 bit...  it will see the USB devices and you can attach...

So I could do that, but PM works fine without the auto ingest...  very quick...

Thanks to Kirk and all for a great program...

Ed
Feed the Shark...

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2009, 12:46:57 PM »
I run also now PM 4.6.1 on a Win7-64 maschine
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline steiny

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2010, 11:07:29 PM »
I'm having the same issue with the MS AutoPlay on my Windows 7 64 bit machine when I insert my CFC. the AutoPlay window opens, one of the options is "Open or Ingest using Photo Mechanic" there is no PM icon next to the link and when I click on that option it says "This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action....blah blah blah.

Strangely, above it, there is an open using Photo Mechanic link that has the PM icon and that works fine.

Wondering if there is a fix for this or is it still an issue with PM not having an update for 64 bit AutoPlay handler?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21567
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2010, 11:40:38 PM »
I'm having the same issue with the MS AutoPlay on my Windows 7 64 bit machine when I insert my CFC. the AutoPlay window opens, one of the options is "Open or Ingest using Photo Mechanic" there is no PM icon next to the link and when I click on that option it says "This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action....blah blah blah.

Strangely, above it, there is an open using Photo Mechanic link that has the PM icon and that works fine.

Wondering if there is a fix for this or is it still an issue with PM not having an update for 64 bit AutoPlay handler?

We do not have a 64-bit specific AutoPlay handler for Photo Mechanic.  I do not know when we'll have one available.

-Kirk

Offline steiny

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2010, 11:40:42 PM »
I figured out how to correct the problem when I saw the posting in the FAQ section here about moving the PMautohandler.exe file to the System32 folder.

Kirk, not sure why you didn't just direct me to the FAQ section. But to all who find this thread in the future...

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21567
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2010, 12:25:04 AM »
For others, the link to the FAQ:

http://www.camerabits.com/site/faq.html

-Kirk
« Last Edit: August 31, 2010, 08:34:28 AM by Kirk Baker »

Offline mklass

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
    • View Profile
    • Mick Klass Photography
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2010, 07:50:33 PM »
Does this work for Vista 64 bit as well?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21567
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic & Windows 7, 64 Bit
« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2010, 08:16:36 PM »
Does this work for Vista 64 bit as well?

It should.

-Kirk