Author Topic: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7  (Read 6346 times)

Offline jonmcg

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« on: October 26, 2009, 06:24:23 AM »
Running 4.6.1. When I use Y to copy an image I can just hit enter to do the copy. The second time (and all other times) it just makes a noise and I have to use the mouse to click the OK button. If I switch to a different program and then back to PM the copy command works once and then fails.
I have the latest drivers for my NVidia Geforce 9600GT.
Any ideas?
Running PM 4.6.1 on my laptop and the copy works correctly (which is why I suspect the display driver).

Online Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20932
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2009, 06:34:37 AM »
Running 4.6.1. When I use Y to copy an image I can just hit enter to do the copy. The second time (and all other times) it just makes a noise and I have to use the mouse to click the OK button. If I switch to a different program and then back to PM the copy command works once and then fails.
I have the latest drivers for my NVidia Geforce 9600GT.
Any ideas?
Running PM 4.6.1 on my laptop and the copy works correctly (which is why I suspect the display driver).

Are both systems running Windows 7?

-Kirk

Offline jonmcg

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2009, 07:37:58 AM »
Both running Windows 7

Offline jonmcg

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2009, 07:38:41 AM »
Have tried 4.6.2 beta and fault still exists.

Online Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20932
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2009, 09:41:11 AM »
Have tried 4.6.2 beta and fault still exists.

What control appears to have focus?

I'd expect 4.6.2 to have the same issue on your system since there were no changes to the Copy Photos dialog from 4.6.1 to 4.6.2 beta.

-Kirk

Online Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20932
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2009, 01:10:27 PM »
Have tried 4.6.2 beta and fault still exists.

We've tried to reproduce this issue on Windows XP, Vista, and Windows 7.  The XP system is 32-bit, and the others are 64-bit.  We cannot reproduce the problem as you have described it on any of these systems.

Perhaps you could post a screenshot (as a JPEG) to your reply to this message (use the 'Additional Options...' link when you're composing your response and it will let you upload a JPEG image) and that may better help us see what is going on.

-Kirk

Offline jonmcg

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2009, 11:43:02 PM »
Out of office until Wednesday now. Nothing seems to have focus. The tab key does nothing when the copy dialogue opens for second time. Until you click into the dialogue window no keys do anything, I just get a noise (will have to find out what Windows noise it is when a key is pressed).

Offline jonmcg

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2009, 02:56:17 AM »
Screenshots, but I cannot see any differences. first two are pre Y being pressed (first works, second fails). Third is what screen looks like after Y pressed and fails.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Online Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20932
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2009, 06:47:49 AM »
Screenshots, but I cannot see any differences. first two are pre Y being pressed (first works, second fails). Third is what screen looks like after Y pressed and fails.

OK, well I can see that in the first photo the copy button has focus and in the second and third photos, the copy button does not have focus, nor does any other button have focus.

I'll look into it, but I can tell you that the initialization code for the Copy Photos dialog really doesn't do anything different the second time it is used.

-Kirk

Offline jonmcg

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2009, 07:30:05 AM »
I have fround a "fix" but not a good one.
If I turn off the option for the mouse pointer to go to the default for a dialog then PM Y works.

Online Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20932
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #10 on: October 28, 2009, 07:57:14 AM »
I have fround a "fix" but not a good one.
If I turn off the option for the mouse pointer to go to the default for a dialog then PM Y works.

I see.  Some behavior in Windows 7 is causing the issue.  Do you have that same feature enabled on your other Windows 7 system that doesn't exhibit this problem?

-Kirk

Offline jonmcg

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2009, 08:04:55 AM »
No, but when I enable it the fault apears. Hopefully you should be able to reproduce it now.

Offline jonmcg

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #12 on: November 05, 2009, 05:19:53 AM »
Kirk,
Any progress?

Online Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20932
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #13 on: November 05, 2009, 06:11:55 AM »
Any progress?

No.  I thought this was resolved.  It is pretty obvious to me that this optional feature you're enabling in Windows 7 changes the focus.  Disabling this optional feature makes the problem go away, correct?

-Kirk

Offline jonmcg

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Copy (Y) loses "focus" under Windows 7
« Reply #14 on: November 05, 2009, 06:36:21 AM »
Yes it works if I disable the auto dialogue mouse option, but I need the feature for other apps. I fear it is a PM problem as other apps under W7 don't have this problem.