Author Topic: Crop on extract jpeg  (Read 11125 times)

Offline soren steffen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Crop on extract jpeg
« Reply #15 on: November 09, 2009, 07:10:48 AM »
Hi Kirk,
Just for the record, I get a strange looking crop rectangle if I convert my Nef files to dng ( I do that for backup backup)
The crop is correct but I still get the rectangle.
I have a screenshot  grab.by/nFq


Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20395
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Crop on extract jpeg
« Reply #16 on: November 09, 2009, 07:21:30 AM »
Søren,

Just for the record, I get a strange looking crop rectangle if I convert my Nef files to dng ( I do that for backup backup)
The crop is correct but I still get the rectangle.
I have a screenshot  grab.by/nFq

What are the steps (and applications) needed to produce the DNG in your screen shot?

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline soren steffen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Crop on extract jpeg
« Reply #17 on: November 09, 2009, 11:08:40 AM »
Kirk,

I select the files in PM, then select edit with Adobe dng converter and save the files to a new folder on  an ext. disk.



Søren

Offline soren steffen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Crop on extract jpeg
« Reply #18 on: November 09, 2009, 11:11:09 AM »
Kirk,
I have set the  dng converter prefs to JPEG Preview: Medium size
compressed (losless)
Preserve RAW image
Don't embed original.

It is v. 5.2

-Søren

Offline soren steffen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Crop on extract jpeg
« Reply #19 on: November 09, 2009, 11:23:01 AM »
Kir,

Just upgraded to v. 5.5
That changed the crop rectangle  :P

grab.by/oeH
- Søren

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20395
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Crop on extract jpeg
« Reply #20 on: November 09, 2009, 11:40:49 AM »
Søren,

Just upgraded to v. 5.5
That changed the crop rectangle  :P

Can you send us one of your DNG files?  Please click on my name to the left of this message, then click on the 'personal message' link.  I will respond with upload instructions.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline mklass

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 294
    • View Profile
    • Mick Klass Photography
Re: Crop on extract jpeg
« Reply #21 on: November 11, 2009, 10:26:53 AM »
Mick,

Any chance that the crop raw feature would be made to work with Capture NX 2 as well?

That would be up to the Capture NX2 folks to implement.  We've just adopted Adobe's way of describing a crop inside XMP data.  If the Capture NX2 folks would do likewise then the crops would be usable across all three applications.

I suggest writing an email to Nikon as a feature request.  Though if you're going to point out that PM 4.6.2 has implemented this feature, you should wait until PM 4.6.2 goes final before sending your request.


-Kirk

I sent in a request today. Who knows if they'll listen. If there are any other Capture NX users that would like to see this, send a request to Nikon through their technical support web site: http://support.nikontech.com/app/ask/p/42/r_id/116678

Mick