Author Topic: no sleep mode using PM on a Mac (10.5.7)  (Read 3266 times)

Offline gvadf

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • hompage
no sleep mode using PM on a Mac (10.5.7)
« on: December 24, 2009, 02:50:00 AM »
When I leave my MAc for a while, it switches into the sleep mode by default.
External Discs and external monitor switch off to, because of the Master/Slave electrical socket.

If PM is running, there is no sleep mode on discs and monitor. It looks like PM is holding the connetion to the disc an monitor busy?!

Guenter
« Last Edit: December 24, 2009, 11:23:19 PM by gvadf »
Best Regards
Guenter

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20927
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: no sleep mode using PM on a Mac (10.5.7)
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2009, 07:15:43 PM »
Guenter,

When I leave my MAc for a while, it switches into the sleep mode by default.
External Discs and external monitor switch off to, because of the Master/Slave electrical socket.

If PM is running, there is no sleep mode on discs and monitor. It looks like PM is holding the connetion to the disc an monitor busy?!

What version of PM are you running?

-Kirk

Offline gvadf

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • hompage
Re: no sleep mode using PM on a Mac (10.5.7)
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2009, 01:22:53 AM »
Version ist 4.6.2.1
Best Regards
Guenter

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20927
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: no sleep mode using PM on a Mac (10.5.7)
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2009, 01:26:32 AM »
Version ist 4.6.2.1


Is Photo Mechanic idle or do you have it performing work?  What happens if you manually try to put your computer to sleep?

-Kirk

Offline gvadf

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • hompage
Re: no sleep mode using PM on a Mac (10.5.7)
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2009, 10:56:07 AM »
Hi Kirk,
PM is idle, just showing one contact sheet on the MBP monitor and one preview on the NEC Monitor.
Btw, discs are connected by FireWire, monitor is connected by DVI

Sleep-mode manually works fine until a photo has been edited.
After having edit a photo, it does not work by time and sometimes work manually.

I use Nikon CNX2 for editing for some years. CNX can handle sleep mode, if it runs solo.

- Guenter





Best Regards
Guenter

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20927
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: no sleep mode using PM on a Mac (10.5.7)
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2009, 11:02:47 AM »
Hi Kirk,
PM is idle, just showing one contact sheet on the MBP monitor and one preview on the NEC Monitor.
Btw, discs are connected by FireWire, monitor is connected by DVI

Sleep-mode manually works fine until a photo has been edited.
After having edit a photo, it does not work by time and sometimes work manually.

I use Nikon CNX2 for editing for some years. CNX can handle sleep mode, if it runs solo.

Will it sleep on its own if you close the contact sheet window?

-Kirk

Offline gvadf

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • hompage
Re: no sleep mode using PM on a Mac (10.5.7)
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2009, 08:51:35 AM »
Hi Kirk,
no. Closing the contact sheet window is not enough.
Only closing PM completely, brings all peripherals to a sleep mode.
Guenter
Best Regards
Guenter

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20927
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: no sleep mode using PM on a Mac (10.5.7)
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2009, 10:05:36 AM »
Guenter,

no. Closing the contact sheet window is not enough.
Only closing PM completely, brings all peripherals to a sleep mode.

I'm not sure what else to suggest then.

-Kirk