Author Topic: Settings when using DPP  (Read 4719 times)

Offline Luiz Muzzi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • Luiz Muzzi Photography
Settings when using DPP
« on: June 30, 2010, 04:27:20 AM »
Hi, there
Can anyone help me with the settings for the IPTC/XMP tab when using DPP?
If possible, please post an image of the settings.
TIA

-Luiz Muzzi

Offline platti

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • my gallery on zenfolio
Re: Settings when using DPP
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2010, 12:42:15 PM »
Hi,

DPP doesn't support any information outside it's own system. It can't read informations such as xmp or externally modified Exifs.
greets from a hill
my gallery on zenfolio

Offline Luiz Muzzi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • Luiz Muzzi Photography
Re: Settings when using DPP
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2010, 02:43:29 PM »
Thanks for your reply.
Should I use DPP only for converting? To what? And stick with PS for editing?
Or use ACR?
What then would be the ideal workflow for Canon pictures?
TIA

-Luiz Muzzi

Offline platti

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • my gallery on zenfolio
Re: Settings when using DPP
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2010, 10:14:44 PM »
Hi,
It depends on your interpretation of "ideal" ...
Certainly it is ideal in some way to use DPP for Canon pictures to convert as this application "understands" the informations in the Canonrawfile directly.
But it may also be "ideal", if you concentrate on workflow as it is and want to do things as fast as possible, this may lead to use Photoshop with its ACR.
But it may also be "ideal", if you want to do the the procedure the way you like it, then you may use different applications for importing, converting and editing.
My workflow is: Photo Mechanic for importing, rating, keywording, selecting, even searching (not only basically), Bibble5 or CaptureOne for special converting if necessary and as a database application I now use ExpressionMedia (I did use iViewMedia until Microsoft bought the company) again, as PhaseOne did buy the company from Microsoft recently. If I need editing, I use Photoshop Elements.
greets from a hill
my gallery on zenfolio

Offline SamFrost

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
    • View Profile
    • Sam Frost Photography
Re: Settings when using DPP
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2010, 03:42:39 AM »
I use DPP as I prefer the RAW conversions it does compared to other converters.

My workflow (shooting RAW only) is:
>import, caption, rate, rename, etc with PM
>copy the selects to a new folder and open that in DPP
>Do all RAW adjustments as required in DPP
>Export as max quality JPEG from DPP back into the selects folder, so I now have a folder of RAW+JPEG
>Any additional editing required to the jpeg done in PS.

For archive searching I use Spotlight on the Mac, but await Camera Bits' cataloguing app with great anticipation.

Offline Luiz Muzzi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • Luiz Muzzi Photography
Re: Settings when using DPP
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2010, 04:05:03 AM »
Thanks a lot for your replies.
My present workflow is aproximately the same as Sam`s.
This fact combined with Platti`s statement tha "ideal may be to do the the procedure the way you like it, then you may use different applications for importing, converting and editing" gave me enough confidence to stick to that.

-Luiz Muzzi

Offline platti

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • my gallery on zenfolio
Re: Settings when using DPP
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2010, 05:51:16 AM »
Thanks a lot for your replies.
My present workflow is aproximately the same as Sam`s.
This fact combined with Platti`s statement tha "ideal may be to do the the procedure the way you like it, then you may use different applications for importing, converting and editing" gave me enough confidence to stick to that.

-Luiz Muzzi
You're welcome ...  ;)
greets from a hill
my gallery on zenfolio