Author Topic: Keywording in Photo Mechanic  (Read 4153 times)

Offline NGoff

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Keywording in Photo Mechanic
« on: July 07, 2010, 02:36:50 AM »
Hi, Kirk!

My computer is an Apple, Power PC G5, with operating system Mac OS 10.4.11. I use Capture NX2 but haven't opened it yet to work with these photos. My camera is a Nikon 70s. My version of Photomechanic is 4.6.3.

Two questions today:

1. I'm trying to learn to apply keywords in PM to more than one image at a time. (Until today, I was a Cut and Paste girl. (In other words, I have no experience with attempting this with PM or any other program).

So far, I am able to create a Master Keywords list, transfer needed keywords from the Master Keywords list to the Current Keywords list, save them as a snapshot, then I am successful in applying them to the several images that I have selected. Yeah.....a good afternoon's learning session.

What is confusing to me is after I perform the above functions. To go onto a new small group of photos in the contact sheet, I am finding that I have to take the mouse, scroll over and hit "ok" on the open "IPTC Keywords" screen and then take the mouse, scroll over and hit "ok" on the "IPTC Info for .....". This seems very cumbersome. Shouldn't I just be able to use the "return" key? It's highlighted!  Or, shouldn't I be able to use the "save & right arrow" button on the "IPTC infor for ...." screen to get out of these screens?

If that is not what the "save & right arrow" button is for, what is it for?  

Am I missing something? Or is some part of my computer or PM version turned off? Or, is there a keyboard command I can use to quickly move on?