Author Topic: Another code replacement question  (Read 3852 times)

Offline Pixel

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Another code replacement question
« on: September 29, 2010, 05:48:01 PM »
When I enter a code, the name comes up fine but leaves a "\" at the end of the name that has to be erased.

How do I keep that from happening?

Thanks!

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24222
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Another code replacement question
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2010, 06:12:43 PM »
When I enter a code, the name comes up fine but leaves a "\" at the end of the name that has to be erased.

How do I keep that from happening?

What does your Code Replacement file look like?  What is your Code Replacement delimiter character?

-Kirk

Offline Pixel

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Another code replacement question
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2010, 06:18:47 PM »
Delimiter character is "\"

What do you mean by "what does it look like"? Here's a sampling of some of the names....
(you can't seem to do tabs in this forum reply but just imagine the space between number and name is a tab...)

ind72         Andrew McDonald
ind77         Josh Hager
ind66         Aaron Price

Offline Pixel

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Another code replacement question
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2010, 08:42:41 AM »
Kirk, any ideas?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24222
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Another code replacement question
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2010, 09:23:59 AM »
Delimiter character is "\"

What do you mean by "what does it look like"? Here's a sampling of some of the names....
(you can't seem to do tabs in this forum reply but just imagine the space between number and name is a tab...)

ind72         Andrew McDonald
ind77         Josh Hager
ind66         Aaron Price


OK, I though perhaps your Code Replacement text file had additional '\' characters in it.  What version of Photo Mechanic are you running?

-Kirk

Offline Pixel

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Another code replacement question
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2010, 09:26:54 AM »
4.6.5

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24222
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Another code replacement question
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2010, 10:06:17 AM »
4.6.5

OK, could you please post a couple of screen shots, one showing what the text field looks like just before you type the ending '\', and one showing the result?

Use the 'Additional Options...' link that appears when you're writing your response to this posting.  There you can browse your hard drive for the two JPEG screen shots and cause them to be attached to your posting.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline primemover

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Another code replacement question
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2011, 12:22:04 AM »
I ran into this same issue and discovered the problem was because I used TextEdit to create the Code Replacement file and saved it in the wrong format.  By default, TextEdit saves documents as an .rtf file instead of a .txt file.  I fixed the problem in TextEdit by going to the "Format" menu and selecting "Make Plain Text."  Then, I saved the file as a .txt file.  Finally, in the list of Code Replacement files in Photo Mechanic, I removed the .rtf file and added the newly created .txt file.

Now the Code Replacement works as expected.  I hope this helps someone.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24222
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Another code replacement question
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2011, 06:33:45 AM »
I ran into this same issue and discovered the problem was because I used TextEdit to create the Code Replacement file and saved it in the wrong format.  By default, TextEdit saves documents as an .rtf file instead of a .txt file.  I fixed the problem in TextEdit by going to the "Format" menu and selecting "Make Plain Text."  Then, I saved the file as a .txt file.  Finally, in the list of Code Replacement files in Photo Mechanic, I removed the .rtf file and added the newly created .txt file.

Now the Code Replacement works as expected.  I hope this helps someone.

Thanks for posting your solution.  I appreciate it.

-Kirk