Author Topic: Closed: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet  (Read 6940 times)

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2523
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Closed: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« on: July 04, 2010, 03:56:21 AM »
With the latest version of Photoshop CS5, Adobe seems to have fixed some really annoying bugs wrt. using droplets on a Mac. They have, however, also radically changed the way they are created; each droplet now is a "real" application with a .app suffix. As a consequence, PM does not recognise them anymore.

I hope this can be fixed easily.

Thanks,
    Hayo
« Last Edit: May 07, 2019, 12:17:12 AM by Hayo Baan »
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21444
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2010, 03:58:19 PM »
Hayo,

With the latest version of Photoshop CS5, Adobe seems to have fixed some really annoying bugs wrt. using droplets on a Mac. They have, however, also radically changed the way they are created; each droplet now is a "real" application with a .app suffix. As a consequence, PM does not recognise them anymore.

I hope this can be fixed easily.

Thanks for the heads-up.  I will look into it for the 4.6.5 update.

-Kirk

Offline ohrbi

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2010, 02:14:02 PM »
Anything new on this problem?
After changing an action in PS CS5 and creating a new droplet PM doesn't like it  ;)

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21444
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2010, 03:33:13 PM »
Anything new on this problem?
After changing an action in PS CS5 and creating a new droplet PM doesn't like it  ;)

What version of PM do you have?

-Kirk

Offline ohrbi

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2010, 03:41:00 PM »
4.6.6

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21444
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2010, 05:04:34 PM »
4.6.6

Are you setting PM to look at the folder containing your droplet(s)?  It works for me (and Hayo who originally reported the issue.)

You need to point at the folder containing your droplets, and not a particular droplet itself.

-Kirk

Offline ohrbi

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2010, 12:15:48 AM »
Are you setting PM to look at the folder containing your droplet(s)?  It works for me (and Hayo who originally reported the issue.)

You need to point at the folder containing your droplets, and not a particular droplet itself.

-Kirk


PM looks at the right folder, and the "old" droplets are still working. PM recognizes the "new" droplet (created by CS5, with *.app at the end), but doesn't execute it.

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2523
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2010, 11:16:30 AM »
That's odd; it worked flawlessly for me. If you drop a file onto the droplet manually (e.g., in the finder), does it work then?

Cheers,
     Hayo
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline ohrbi

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2010, 11:18:45 AM »
That's odd; it worked flawlessly for me. If you drop a file onto the droplet manually (e.g., in the finder), does it work then?

Cheers,
     Hayo

Yes, via the Finder etc. works ... the Problem seems to be "the execution" by PM ...

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21444
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2010, 04:36:52 PM »
That's odd; it worked flawlessly for me. If you drop a file onto the droplet manually (e.g., in the finder), does it work then?

Yes, via the Finder etc. works ... the Problem seems to be "the execution" by PM ...

Can you send me your droplet?  Please click on my name to the left of this message, then click on the 'personal message' link.  I will respond with upload instructions.

-Kirk

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2523
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2010, 08:56:22 AM »
Kirk,

I had not been using droplets for a while, but with 4.6.6 my previously working droplet doesn't seem to work any longer.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
    Hayo
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21444
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2010, 09:55:13 AM »
Hayo,

I had not been using droplets for a while, but with 4.6.6 my previously working droplet doesn't seem to work any longer.

I discovered the source of the problem and fixed it for the next update.

-Kirk

Offline Catto

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2010, 02:45:04 PM »
I discovered the source of the problem and fixed it for the next update.

Hi Kirk, just discovered this problem as well myself, is there a new beta of the next update we can test for you yet?

Thanks,
R!

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21444
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2010, 11:11:40 PM »
I discovered the source of the problem and fixed it for the next update.

Hi Kirk, just discovered this problem as well myself, is there a new beta of the next update we can test for you yet?

No.  I'm quite sure that it is fixed, however.

I'd expect a beta next week.

-Kirk

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21444
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: New CS5 droplets not recognised yet
« Reply #14 on: December 14, 2010, 05:38:18 PM »
This issue is resolved in the 4.6.7 beta version:

http://forums.camerabits.com/index.php?topic=6072.0

Thanks,

-Kirk