Author Topic: Can I rename files according to shooting sequence when ingesting multiple cards?  (Read 4377 times)

Offline Lyle Aspinall

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
As a newspaper photographer, I shoot almost every assignment with two bodies at once, one with an SD card and the other with a CF card. I do this in order to ingest both cards simultaneously, and I don't have a reader with dual CF or SD slots.

The time-of-day on both bodies is synchronized.

Now I want to speed up the process of renaming the files according to overall sequence, and I'm wondering if there's a way to do it on ingest.

As it is right now, I wait for the dual ingest to finish before manually opting to view the files according to Capture Time (I don't set this as the default view option because it slows down the processing time) and then renaming the files with the date, a short word regarding the gig and a sequence starting at 0001. My renaming code is {dats}xxx{seqn}.

Does anyone know of a way to speed up this process, so that the files combining out of two bodies will automatically rename sequentially?

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Lyle,

As a newspaper photographer, I shoot almost every assignment with two bodies at once, one with an SD card and the other with a CF card. I do this in order to ingest both cards simultaneously, and I don't have a reader with dual CF or SD slots.

The time-of-day on both bodies is synchronized.

Now I want to speed up the process of renaming the files according to overall sequence, and I'm wondering if there's a way to do it on ingest.