Author Topic: File naming and Extended IPTC field questions  (Read 4374 times)

Offline Denis

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
File naming and Extended IPTC field questions
« on: December 15, 2010, 03:16:07 PM »
I am a sports photographer and currently evaluating Photo Mechanic to improve my workflow.  I have a couple of questions right now:

1) One of my client requires that the files I deliver be named using YYMMDD_###_AthleteLastName_Copyright.  How would you recommend I do this?

2) I looked into the manual (didn't read all of it yet so I might have missed it), but I didn't see any support for the extended IPTC fields (like PersonInImage).  Did I miss it?  If not, is it coming? When?

3) Adding new fields.  I use Phil Harvey excellent ExifTool right now and it allows to create user defined tags.  I am not using this extensively right now, but I have thought about a few scenarios where that could be useful (store information about an Athlete for example).  I don't think that Photo Mechanic support the creation of user defined tag, but if there are defined in the file, will I be able to manipulate them?

Thanks.

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: File naming and Extended IPTC field questions
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2010, 06:26:55 PM »
Denis,

I am a sports photographer and currently evaluating Photo Mechanic to improve my workflow.  I have a couple of questions right now:

1) One of my client requires that the files I deliver be named using YYMMDD_###_AthleteLastName_Copyright.  How would you recommend I do this?

You would either rename during Ingest or by using the Rename dialog later.  Photo Mechanic has a large selection of '{variables}' that can be used to rename in a large variety of ways.  I'm not sure what '###' means in your example, but the following would evaluate to the date format you've chosen:

{year2}{month2}{day2}