Author Topic: Missing card / frames check  (Read 1977 times)

Offline JAS Photo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 393
    • View Profile
    • JAS Photo LLC
Missing card / frames check
« on: February 16, 2011, 07:18:32 AM »
I asked for this a while back -

Could PM on injest check to see if all sequential images are ingested, no major gaps Like would happen if a card failed or was missing.
PM know what was ingested previously so if frames 0100 - 0800 are injested and my next ingest starts at 1000 I would love for PM to issue a warning.
Maybe a setting to ignore 1-5 frames or 1-10 frames, so in camera deletions don't trigger.

This would be very helpfull when ingesting multiple cards.
I think PM could do this for multiple bodies.
Joe Sorrentino
JAS Photo LLC
http://www.JASPhoto.com

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19401
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Missing card / frames check
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 07:29:53 AM »
Joe,

I asked for this a while back -

Could PM on injest check to see if all sequential images are ingested, no major gaps Like would happen if a card failed or was missing.
PM know what was ingested previously so if frames 0100 - 0800 are injested and my next ingest starts at 1000 I would love for PM to issue a warning.
Maybe a setting to ignore 1-5 frames or 1-10 frames, so in camera deletions don't trigger.

This would be very helpfull when ingesting multiple cards.
I think PM could do this for multiple bodies.


If the card is failing, most likely you'll get read errors and Ingest will report that to you.  I don't think that missing sequences happen very often unless the photographer is deleting them on the back of the camera as they shoot.

-Kirk

Offline JAS Photo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 393
    • View Profile
    • JAS Photo LLC
Re: Missing card / frames check
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2011, 08:28:33 AM »
I often shoot multiple cards - what if a card is lost / misplaced or just forgotten. I think it would be an easy ad on and a comfort. Just to say HEY (maybe you left a card in the backup body) 50 frames are missing!!!
Joe Sorrentino
JAS Photo LLC
http://www.JASPhoto.com

Offline Luiz Muzzi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
    • View Profile
    • Luiz Muzzi Photography
Re: Missing card / frames check
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2011, 08:20:47 AM »
Joe,
What would happen if you set your camera to auto reset the file numbering or if you manual reset it? That could pose a difficulty.
Regards,

-Luiz Muzzi

Offline JoopPlaisier

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Missing card / frames check
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2011, 12:06:33 PM »
Joe, an easy solution is to use the actuations variable, I display the actuations as well as the camera used.
All the best
Joop

Offline JAS Photo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 393
    • View Profile
    • JAS Photo LLC
Re: Missing card / frames check
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2011, 05:54:27 PM »
I don't reset my frame numbers for that reason and check my often check frames numbers to make sure there are no big gaps but if I use body a for a week and body b once in 2 weeks - it's hard to find when the last time I used body B to know where it's numbers left off.

The actuations dosn't tell me if a card 600 frames ago was not ingested.
Joe Sorrentino
JAS Photo LLC
http://www.JASPhoto.com

Offline JoopPlaisier

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Missing card / frames check
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2011, 04:17:26 AM »
This is why I use the variables displaying Actuations, Camera Model and SerialNumber. By doing so I display unique info which can then easily be sorted in PM per camera etc. This is how I keep track of multiple cameras and cards.

Offline JAS Photo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 393
    • View Profile
    • JAS Photo LLC
Re: Missing card / frames check
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2019, 07:40:49 AM »
I just ran into this again - & still believe a missing frame warning would be useful. Frame # could be irrelevant - Actuation's variation per camera serial # would be perfect.
Maybe "ingesting" a blank frame in its place with a pre coded 8 Code so they could be easily deleted.
IMHO
Thanks
Joe

Joe Sorrentino
JAS Photo LLC
http://www.JASPhoto.com