Author Topic: Where is the file of Master keywords saved?  (Read 2751 times)

Offline jisner

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Where is the file of Master keywords saved?
« on: October 12, 2011, 02:47:35 PM »
I'm new to Photo Mechanic and to keywording, so I'm not sure if I'm doing things correctly.   

I added keywords to about 100 folders of images using the Keywords Panel.  In doing so, I built up a long list of keywords in the Keywords Panel.  I then exited Photo Mechanic. 

When I restarted Photo Mechanic and launched the Keywords Panel, the panel was empty!  Oops, I realized that I probably should have clicked the "Save Master" button before exiting.  So I laboriously re-entered all the keywords into the Keywords Panel and clicked "Save Master."   Since there is no save dialog, I wasn't sure if saving worked.  So I looked for a file in the Camera Bits folder under App Data (Windows 7).  I could not find any file with a current timestamp that looked like a file of keywords.  Now I am reluctant to exit Photo Mechanic for fear of losing my keywords once again!

Can you tell me (1) if I'm using the Keywords Panel correctly, and if so (2) where the Master keyword file is saved in Windows 7?

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Where is the file of Master keywords saved?
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2011, 04:31:23 PM »
I'm new to Photo Mechanic and to keywording, so I'm not sure if I'm doing things correctly.   

I added keywords to about 100 folders of images using the Keywords Panel.  In doing so, I built up a long list of keywords in the Keywords Panel.  I then exited Photo Mechanic.