Author Topic: "Out Of Memory"  (Read 6095 times)

Offline Pemihan

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
"Out Of Memory"
« on: December 27, 2011, 01:28:16 PM »
Hi,

I'm using PM 4.6.8 on a Mac Pro 2.66 8 core Nehalem (Intel) OS 10.6.8 - 32 GB Ram.

I just installed this machine and when browsing in PM 4.6.8 I often get a black screen with "Out Of Memoty" written in red.
If I quit PM and run it again sometimes it goes away, but it comes back again at some point.

Here's something from my system log:

Dec 27 22:14:28 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro Photo Mechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb5369000) malloc: *** mmap(size=496058368) failed (error code=12)\n*** error: can't allocate region\n*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:28 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb5369000) malloc: *** mmap(size=496058368) failed (error code=12)
Dec 27 22:14:28 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** error: can't allocate region
Dec 27 22:14:28 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:28 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro Photo Mechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb5369000) malloc: *** mmap(size=496058368) failed (error code=12)\n*** error: can't allocate region\n*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:28 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb5369000) malloc: *** mmap(size=496058368) failed (error code=12)
Dec 27 22:14:28 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** error: can't allocate region
Dec 27 22:14:28 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:29 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro Photo Mechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=108584960) failed (error code=12)\n*** error: can't allocate region\n*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:29 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=108584960) failed (error code=12)
Dec 27 22:14:29 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** error: can't allocate region
Dec 27 22:14:29 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:29 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro Photo Mechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=108584960) failed (error code=12)\n*** error: can't allocate region\n*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:29 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=108584960) failed (error code=12)
Dec 27 22:14:29 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** error: can't allocate region
Dec 27 22:14:29 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro Photo Mechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=209371136) failed (error code=12)\n*** error: can't allocate region\n*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=209371136) failed (error code=12)
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** error: can't allocate region
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro Photo Mechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=209371136) failed (error code=12)\n*** error: can't allocate region\n*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=209371136) failed (error code=12)
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** error: can't allocate region
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro Photo Mechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=209371136) failed (error code=12)\n*** error: can't allocate region\n*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=209371136) failed (error code=12)
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** error: can't allocate region
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro Photo Mechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=209371136) failed (error code=12)\n*** error: can't allocate region\n*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=209371136) failed (error code=12)
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** error: can't allocate region
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro Photo Mechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=209371136) failed (error code=12)\n*** error: can't allocate region\n*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=209371136) failed (error code=12)
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** error: can't allocate region
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro Photo Mechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=209371136) failed (error code=12)\n*** error: can't allocate region\n*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb3361000) malloc: *** mmap(size=209371136) failed (error code=12)
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** error: can't allocate region
Dec 27 22:14:35 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug

Hope you can help...
Peter

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21663
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: "Out Of Memory"
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2011, 05:46:10 PM »
Peter,

I'm using PM 4.6.8 on a Mac Pro 2.66 8 core Nehalem (Intel) OS 10.6.8 - 32 GB Ram.

I just installed this machine and when browsing in PM 4.6.8 I often get a black screen with "Out Of Memoty" written in red.
If I quit PM and run it again sometimes it goes away, but it comes back again at some point.

Here's something from my system log:

Dec 27 22:14:28 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro Photo Mechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb5369000) malloc: *** mmap(size=496058368) failed (error code=12)\n*** error: can't allocate region\n*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:28 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb5369000) malloc: *** mmap(size=496058368) failed (error code=12)
Dec 27 22:14:28 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** error: can't allocate region
Dec 27 22:14:28 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro [0x0-0x31031].com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic[287]: *** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
Dec 27 22:14:28 Peter-Misfeldts-Mac-Pro Photo Mechanic[287]: Photo Mechanic(287,0xb5369000) malloc: *** mmap(size=496058368) failed (error code=12)\n*** error: can't allocate region\n*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug

How many images are you working with at the time that PM is running out of memory?
Have you set PM's Memory Cache to a large value (greater than 768 MB)?  If so, make it smaller.

-Kirk

Offline Pemihan

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: "Out Of Memory"
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2011, 11:14:25 PM »

How many images are you working with at the time that PM is running out of memory?
Have you set PM's Memory Cache to a large value (greater than 768 MB)?  If so, make it smaller.

-Kirk


Hi Kirk,

I usually happens when I'm browsing a folder with only 155 images. Most are RAW and JPG files but some of them are Photoshop psd files around 150 -200MB and it mostly happens on those large files.

I have tried with the Memory Cache set to 512MB and 1024MB and the result is pretty much the same.

Peter

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21663
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: "Out Of Memory"
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2011, 06:35:26 AM »
Peter,


How many images are you working with at the time that PM is running out of memory?
Have you set PM's Memory Cache to a large value (greater than 768 MB)?  If so, make it smaller.

I usually happens when I'm browsing a folder with only 155 images. Most are RAW and JPG files but some of them are Photoshop psd files around 150 -200MB and it mostly happens on those large files.

I have tried with the Memory Cache set to 512MB and 1024MB and the result is pretty much the same.

Try setting your Memory Cache below 512MB, try 300MB.  If PM can't allocate a large enough contiguous block of memory to load your image then it will fail.  Having a large memory cache will only make things worse.

-Kirk

Offline Pemihan

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: "Out Of Memory"
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2011, 07:40:16 AM »
Peter,


How many images are you working with at the time that PM is running out of memory?
Have you set PM's Memory Cache to a large value (greater than 768 MB)?  If so, make it smaller.

I usually happens when I'm browsing a folder with only 155 images. Most are RAW and JPG files but some of them are Photoshop psd files around 150 -200MB and it mostly happens on those large files.

I have tried with the Memory Cache set to 512MB and 1024MB and the result is pretty much the same.

Try setting your Memory Cache below 512MB, try 300MB.  If PM can't allocate a large enough contiguous block of memory to load your image then it will fail.  Having a large memory cache will only make things worse.

-Kirk


I'll give it a try and get back to you...
Peter

Offline Pemihan

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: "Out Of Memory"
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2011, 07:42:13 AM »
Peter,


How many images are you working with at the time that PM is running out of memory?
Have you set PM's Memory Cache to a large value (greater than 768 MB)?  If so, make it smaller.

I usually happens when I'm browsing a folder with only 155 images. Most are RAW and JPG files but some of them are Photoshop psd files around 150 -200MB and it mostly happens on those large files.

I have tried with the Memory Cache set to 512MB and 1024MB and the result is pretty much the same.

Try setting your Memory Cache below 512MB, try 300MB.  If PM can't allocate a large enough contiguous block of memory to load your image then it will fail.  Having a large memory cache will only make things worse.

-Kirk


Just tried it, 300MB Memory Cache and the problem is still there..

Peter

Offline Pemihan

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: "Out Of Memory"
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2011, 09:05:08 AM »
Peter,


How many images are you working with at the time that PM is running out of memory?
Have you set PM's Memory Cache to a large value (greater than 768 MB)?  If so, make it smaller.

I usually happens when I'm browsing a folder with only 155 images. Most are RAW and JPG files but some of them are Photoshop psd files around 150 -200MB and it mostly happens on those large files.

I have tried with the Memory Cache set to 512MB and 1024MB and the result is pretty much the same.

Try setting your Memory Cache below 512MB, try 300MB.  If PM can't allocate a large enough contiguous block of memory to load your image then it will fail.  Having a large memory cache will only make things worse.

-Kirk


Just tried it, 300MB Memory Cache and the problem is still there..

Peter

Doh! I forgot to restart PM after setting the Memory Cache to 300MB. It seems that after a restart the problem is gone :-)
I'll get back to you if it resurfaces.

By the way, what are the recommended settings for Disc Cache size?

Peter

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21663
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: "Out Of Memory"
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2011, 09:48:24 AM »
Peter,


How many images are you working with at the time that PM is running out of memory?
Have you set PM's Memory Cache to a large value (greater than 768 MB)?  If so, make it smaller.

I usually happens when I'm browsing a folder with only 155 images. Most are RAW and JPG files but some of them are Photoshop psd files around 150 -200MB and it mostly happens on those large files.

I have tried with the Memory Cache set to 512MB and 1024MB and the result is pretty much the same.

Try setting your Memory Cache below 512MB, try 300MB.  If PM can't allocate a large enough contiguous block of memory to load your image then it will fail.  Having a large memory cache will only make things worse.

Just tried it, 300MB Memory Cache and the problem is still there..

Doh! I forgot to restart PM after setting the Memory Cache to 300MB. It seems that after a restart the problem is gone :-)
I'll get back to you if it resurfaces.

By the way, what are the recommended settings for Disc Cache size?

It's really up to you, but these should suffice:

1000 - 2000 MB
Leave at least 100 MB free.

-Kirk

Offline Pemihan

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: "Out Of Memory"
« Reply #8 on: December 30, 2011, 02:10:46 AM »
Peter,


How many images are you working with at the time that PM is running out of memory?
Have you set PM's Memory Cache to a large value (greater than 768 MB)?  If so, make it smaller.

I usually happens when I'm browsing a folder with only 155 images. Most are RAW and JPG files but some of them are Photoshop psd files around 150 -200MB and it mostly happens on those large files.

I have tried with the Memory Cache set to 512MB and 1024MB and the result is pretty much the same.

Try setting your Memory Cache below 512MB, try 300MB.  If PM can't allocate a large enough contiguous block of memory to load your image then it will fail.  Having a large memory cache will only make things worse.

Just tried it, 300MB Memory Cache and the problem is still there..

Doh! I forgot to restart PM after setting the Memory Cache to 300MB. It seems that after a restart the problem is gone :-)
I'll get back to you if it resurfaces.

By the way, what are the recommended settings for Disc Cache size?

It's really up to you, but these should suffice:

1000 - 2000 MB
Leave at least 100 MB free.

-Kirk


Thanks for your help Kirk...

Peter