Author Topic: Save As... did not overwrite  (Read 7607 times)

Offline andomar

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Save As... did not overwrite
« on: December 30, 2011, 06:40:43 PM »

Is there an option which leads the "Save Photos As..." function to overwrite
existing files instead of creating new files with filename-extensions ?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24172
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Save As... did not overwrite
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2011, 08:00:24 PM »

Is there an option which leads the "Save Photos As..." function to overwrite
existing files instead of creating new files with filename-extensions ?

No.  There is not and will never be an option to overwrite files in Photo Mechanic.

What is it that you're trying to do?

-Kirk

Offline andomar

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Save As... did not overwrite
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2012, 05:15:07 AM »

For example what I am doing from time to time:

I have 1000 nef-files in my contact sheet.
I select them all and do a "Save Photos As..." to create lowres-versions from the embedded jpegs to a different (empty) folder.
Some time after this (maybe days or weeks later) I decided to modify some of the originals (nef) with Capture NX.
After this I select those modified files in Photo Mechanic and want to create the low-res Version of them again and save them to my 1000 pictures low-res folder (and of course want to overwrite the old versions).
It's  annoying to search inside the folder either for the photos I want to replace (to delete them before) or
to rename them later by hand...

What about simple a checkbox "overwrite existing" ? ;-)

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24172
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Save As... did not overwrite
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2012, 07:04:10 AM »

For example what I am doing from time to time:

I have 1000 nef-files in my contact sheet.
I select them all and do a "Save Photos As..." to create lowres-versions from the embedded jpegs to a different (empty) folder.
Some time after this (maybe days or weeks later) I decided to modify some of the originals (nef) with Capture NX.
After this I select those modified files in Photo Mechanic and want to create the low-res Version of them again and save them to my 1000 pictures low-res folder (and of course want to overwrite the old versions).
It's  annoying to search inside the folder either for the photos I want to replace (to delete them before) or
to rename them later by hand...

What about simple a checkbox "overwrite existing" ? ;-)

Since it doesn't take long to create the low-res JPEGs, why not delete all of them and generate them again?

-Kirk

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2550
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: Save As... did not overwrite
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2012, 01:56:03 PM »
Alternative (it's what I do): run a simple shell command to move all files ending in A.jpg to end in just .jpg?

This of course only works if non of your files end in A.jpg

Hope this helps,
Hayo
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline Luiz Muzzi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • Luiz Muzzi Photography
Re: Save As... did not overwrite
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2012, 02:13:36 AM »
Hi, Hayo
How was Christmas and New Year?

Nice suggestion of yours...
How would that shell command be? Would it be run in the terminal window?
TIA

-Luiz Muzzi

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2550
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: Save As... did not overwrite
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2012, 12:07:59 PM »
Hi Luiz,

Happy new year! Christmas was great (skiing in Switzerland :D), thanks for asking. Yours was good too?

Anyway, on the Mac the move is simply done like so: for a in *A.jpg; do mv "$a" "${a/A.jpg/.jpg}"; done
The command is run in a Terminal window, from the directory you'd like to change the files in.

Enjoy,
Hayo
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline sgbotsford

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Save As... did not overwrite
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2012, 08:34:38 AM »

I did one project where I needed files in 11 different resolutions ranging from 2000x3000 pixels down to 60 x 90.

I ended up using a script that compared the mod time of the original file (in my catalog folder) with the mod time of the destination file.  If the original was newer, it would rebuild the secondary files. 

This allowed me to keep tweaking the original files and regenerating the web site as needed. 

(Why so many resolutions?  Meant that the web site could send images that were just the right size, decreasing bandwidth usage, and allowing static html files.  $Bandwidth > $CPU time > $diskspace)

The script was written in perl, and used various command line photo tools.  Details by PM if you wish.

Offline krakouer

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Save As... did not overwrite
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2021, 10:54:06 PM »
Is this something that can be revisited?

CaptureOne Pro, after forever, finally added the overwrite feature this week! Lightroom added it years ago. It's life-changing for me when issuing to an issue folder which is on a NAS that the client gets.

There can be many revisions with photos and it can be painful jumping into Windows Explorer to try and find the photo I'm going to replace, delete it, go back to PM and re-save.

I guess it could at least have an option like this industry standard software where we get: skip, append with letter or number, overwrite...and by default enable append like it currently is?

Offline krakouer

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Save As... did not overwrite
« Reply #9 on: August 18, 2021, 10:58:46 PM »
Like this, for at least some users