Author Topic: Actuations 20d  (Read 5295 times)

Offline Hal Henty

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Actuations 20d
« on: October 07, 2006, 04:46:54 PM »
Hi:

How do you read the actuations for a 20d mine are in the millions on both 20ds

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20532
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Actuations 20d
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2006, 04:49:49 PM »
How do you read the actuations for a 20d mine are in the millions on both 20ds

The actuation count variable's value that appears on a 20D image comes from a combination of the folder number that the image came from and the frame number of the image itself.

So if you had and image that was in folder 107 and its frame number was 1000, the value you would see in Photo Mechanic would be 1071000.

Only the Canon 1D series and the 5D have an actual shutter actuation count.

HTH,

-Kirk
« Last Edit: October 07, 2006, 06:30:50 PM by Kirk Baker »

Offline Hal Henty

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Actuations 20d
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2006, 03:31:19 AM »
Thanks.  Question if they have a 100 frames in each folder can I figure on about 100 x each folder for a rough count.

Offline Hal Henty

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Actuations 20d
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2006, 07:37:33 AM »
? can I take the folder # x 100 for a rough number of actuations on the 20d

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20532
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Actuations 20d
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2006, 08:07:30 AM »
? can I take the folder # x 100 for a rough number of actuations on the 20d

Yes, but of course that number resets each time you reformat the card.

The actuation count variable shows you the concatenation of the folder number and the frame number.  So the first three digits are the folder number, and the last three digits are the frame number.

The frame number resets to zero once it passes 9999.  So if you have several sets of images that the frame number has wrapped around then you can multiply that number by 10000 and get a good approximation of the number of shutter actuations on your camera.

HTH,

-Kirk

Offline Hal Henty

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Actuations 20d
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2006, 11:29:49 AM »
Thank you this helps

Offline gregoire

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • www.emilegregoire.com
Re: Actuations 20d
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2006, 01:46:50 AM »
Kirk, you state that the 5D should have an actuations counter but my 5D images don't show anything usefull under the {actuations} variable... Does the actuations counter reset with the in-camera 'File numbering' set to 'Auto reset'? Shouldn't be the case but it looks like that's what's happening.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20532
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Actuations 20d
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2006, 06:30:42 AM »
Kirk, you state that the 5D should have an actuations counter but my 5D images don't show anything usefull under the {actuations} variable... Does the actuations counter reset with the in-camera 'File numbering' set to 'Auto reset'? Shouldn't be the case but it looks like that's what's happening.

I don't know if the data would get reset in that case.  How about sending me a sample file or two?

Contact me for server upload information.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline gregoire

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • www.emilegregoire.com
Re: Actuations 20d
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2006, 10:15:51 AM »
Will do next week or so.