Author Topic: PM and Aperture 1.5  (Read 6672 times)

Karen Buckland

PM and Aperture 1.5
« on: October 16, 2006, 11:42:05 AM »
I'm a long-time Photo Mechanic user, but I'm new to Aperture (using V1.5).

I realize my problem is most likely an Aperture problem, but I wondered if there is a certain setting I should be using in the PM IPTC preferences to prevent this.

The problem:
I imported some photos that had IPTC data added in Photo Mechanic. The thumbnails for the imported files are very small in Aperture (288x192 pixels). Even when I send the file from Aperture to an external editor (PhotoShop) the file is sent as a small image. For example, a Canon 1Ds raw file is sent to PhotoShop as a 288x192 pixel image!

Imported photos without IPTC data added with Photo Mechanic do not have this problem.

If I process the problem raw file through Adobe's DNG converter and then reimport the image, the the thumbnail looks as it should and transfers to external editor fine. However, the IPTC data no longer shows up in Aperture (although I can see it is still there if I look at the file with Bridge or Photo Mechanic). I can live without the metadata showing up, but here's another catch:

Once the DNG file is in Aperture, if I quit Aperture and then edit the metadata in Photo Mechanic again, the little thumbnail problem is back when I restart Aperture.

Any suggestions? I've posted on the Aperture forum and haven't received any help there yet.

Thanks,
Karen

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM and Aperture 1.5
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2006, 12:38:28 PM »
Karen,

I'm a long-time Photo Mechanic user, but I'm new to Aperture (using V1.5).

I realize my problem is most likely an Aperture problem, but I wondered if there is a certain setting I should be using in the PM IPTC preferences to prevent this.

The problem: