Author Topic: Edit with Capture One imports everything  (Read 4498 times)

Offline zoomonsports

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Edit with Capture One imports everything
« on: May 06, 2012, 07:38:11 PM »
Just got PM and have always used Capture one for my raw development.  What I have noticed and find a pain is going through my shots in PM and then finding the couple I like and wanting to make a few tweaks in CO.  When I highlight just one and right click edit it opens up CO but then not only the one I want to edit but every shot in the file.  How do I prevent all 400 being brought in or opened up in CO? 

Thanks in advance,

Tom

Online Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 22273
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Edit with Capture One imports everything
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2012, 08:05:20 PM »
Tom,

I think that's really a question you'd have to ask the Capture One folks.  PM is only sending the one file to Capture One, not the entire folder (unless you select the entire folder's worth of photos) so I don't know why it is responding in such a manner, but I don't think PM can do anything different in regards to sending a photo to an external application.

See what the Capture One folks have to say.

-Kirk

Offline Sysyphus

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Edit with Capture One imports everything
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2012, 08:10:45 PM »
I too use C1.
I believe this is strictly C1's issue, not really an issue but rather a design feature.
C1 was designed with pro photographers in mind working on many photos from a shoot.
It doesn't seem working on one or two edits was their intent.
My workaround has always been to move the file in question to its own folder and open it from there.
You could create a "temporary C1 folder" and just work out of it.

This is my understanding which is flawed by my huge lack of knowledge.  :D

Offline zoomonsports

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Edit with Capture One imports everything
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2012, 09:42:22 PM »
Thanks guys for the answers.  I will contact Phase one and see if they can help. My guess is PM is sending over one picture in the file but CO sees all and brings them all in.  The temp folder could be a work around but I will write CO then.

Offline ron_hiner

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
Re: Edit with Capture One imports everything
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2012, 11:09:21 PM »
Tom -- Please report back with your findings! 


Offline platti

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
    • my gallery on zenfolio
Re: Edit with Capture One imports everything
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2012, 04:34:19 AM »
Hi,
this is how C1 works: on files in a folder.
I mark all files of interest in PM with stars and then work on these in C1.
greets from a hill
my gallery on zenfolio

Offline zoomonsports

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Edit with Capture One imports everything
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2012, 07:57:09 PM »
Here is what the response was on the forum:
Capture One does not work like Photoshop which edits per file. Capture One works per folder, just like Photo Mechanic.

What you could do if you like to integrate both PM and CO6 in a workflow, is that you use PM for fast selection by rating and have PM store that in an XMP sidecar file. CO6 can load that info from the XMP file and you select your files on rating (you can use smart albums for automating that process) and work with that file/these files only in CO6.

Offline adrianlambert

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Edit with Capture One imports everything
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2012, 01:39:16 PM »
Yep. Ratings. CO has always had a session based workflow. I tend to use a default session for this sort of thing and just use the album feature in CO if i want to keep things tidy.