Author Topic: Thumbnail re-draw issues  (Read 3020 times)

Offline Jonzinator

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Thumbnail re-draw issues
« on: October 30, 2006, 01:35:39 PM »
Hello,

I am running version 4.4.3.3   After initally opening a folder and having all the thumbs draw, passing hte mouse over the thumbs will make the thumb image disappear.  Seems to happen mostly after sitting or a few min with access or when in the image view mode then switching back.  Reducing the window then re-opening clears things up but its still a pain.



Any ideas?

Troy

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20513
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Thumbnail re-draw issues
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2006, 04:07:55 PM »
Troy,

I am running version 4.4.3.3   After initally opening a folder and having all the thumbs draw, passing hte mouse over the thumbs will make the thumb image disappear.  Seems to happen mostly after sitting or a few min with access or when in the image view mode then switching back.  Reducing the window then re-opening clears things up but its still a pain.

What OS are you running?
What are your Photo Mechanic cache settings?  (Preferences->Caching)

-Kirk

Offline Jonzinator

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Thumbnail re-draw issues
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2006, 08:51:04 PM »
WinXP Pro w/2gig RAM

Cache settings.....

Location: docs and settings/camera bits/photomechanic       

I have just moved this cache to a dedicated temp drive.

size is 512mb

reserve is 100mb on disk

empty cache on exit is checked.

mem cache is 64.

Thanks for the help....

Troy


Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20513
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Thumbnail re-draw issues
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2006, 10:13:03 PM »
Troy,

WinXP Pro w/2gig RAM

Cache settings.....

Location: docs and settings/camera bits/photomechanic       

I have just moved this cache to a dedicated temp drive.

size is 512mb

reserve is 100mb on disk

empty cache on exit is checked.

mem cache is 64.

Thanks for the help....

Try setting the memory cache to 256 MB.  That should be a good size for the amount of RAM you have.

-Kirk

Offline Jonzinator

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Thumbnail re-draw issues
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2006, 11:03:50 PM »
Will do.....Thanks for the help.


Troy