Author Topic: Separating my Nikon V1 files from my D300 files  (Read 3185 times)

Offline RogerGW

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Separating my Nikon V1 files from my D300 files
« on: July 19, 2012, 12:19:29 AM »
I've just bought a Nikon V1 and, naturally, am using PM to ingest its files. I have all my pictures organised by camera make, then dated folders (one a day).

PM is, not unreasonably, putting the V1 files in the same grouping -- " Nikon" -- as my D300 files. Is there a way to subdivide that by camera model, so that ingests automatically go to the right set of folders?

TIA,

Roger
Roger Whitehead
Using PM 6.0, build 5376, under Windows 10 Home, version 20H2

Offline Sven

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1022
    • View Profile
Re: Separating my Nikon V1 files from my D300 files
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2012, 12:23:59 AM »
Hi Roger!

You can use the {model} variable. In case of the V1 it will return "NIKON 1 V1"

EDIT: The D300 will return "NIKON D300"

hth
Sven
Changed from behind the cam to one who buys images as I started to run. No cam or lens left.

Offline RogerGW

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Separating my Nikon V1 files from my D300 files
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2012, 12:45:55 AM »
That was quick! Many thanks.

Roger
Roger Whitehead
Using PM 6.0, build 5376, under Windows 10 Home, version 20H2

Offline Sven

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1022
    • View Profile
Re: Separating my Nikon V1 files from my D300 files
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2012, 12:47:27 AM »
No problem :)

Sven
Changed from behind the cam to one who buys images as I started to run. No cam or lens left.

Offline RogerGW

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Separating my Nikon V1 files from my D300 files
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2012, 01:18:12 AM »
How do I turn the new folder headings into something consistent with my existing names?

I want to have my V1 files in "1V1pix" but can't get Code Replacement to do it. Using a UTF-8 editor (BabelPad), I have added this line to C:\Program Files (x86)\Camera Bits\Photo Mechanic 4.6\CodeReplacement.txt :

=NIKON 1 V1=    1V1pix

with a tab separating them.

That doesn't work. I've tried typing the first term into the Stationery Pad but it doesn't change.

Any suggestions, please?

Roger

PS I have "=" as the delimiter
Roger Whitehead
Using PM 6.0, build 5376, under Windows 10 Home, version 20H2

Offline Sven

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1022
    • View Profile
Re: Separating my Nikon V1 files from my D300 files
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2012, 01:27:07 AM »
Roger,

You don't need the delimiter in the CR file.

Just put the text into that file and use "=" in the IPTC data or wherever you need it. will then look like "={model}=".

CR-File:
Code: [Select]
NIKON 1 V1    1V1pix

hth
Sven
Changed from behind the cam to one who buys images as I started to run. No cam or lens left.

Offline RogerGW

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Separating my Nikon V1 files from my D300 files
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2012, 02:07:42 AM »
Brill! That did it.

Thanks again, Sven.
Roger Whitehead
Using PM 6.0, build 5376, under Windows 10 Home, version 20H2