Author Topic: PM 5 and png's  (Read 2685 times)

Offline xtine

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
PM 5 and png's
« on: August 04, 2012, 02:11:50 AM »
Hi,

I'm a graphic designer, a digital artist and a amateur photographer.

I design digital art for digital scrapbooking. The file standard in digital scrapbooking is .jpg for backgrounds/papers, .png's for elements/clip art and .psd for layered templates.
The amount of single files I have will run into the 80,000 or more and that is not including my photos.
I desperately need a DAM to organize my files. I already have a folder structure set up that represents my workflow.(even took classes on that ;-))

I tried out the demo version of PM 4.6.9 and had high hopes. Unfortunately the .png's did not show up properly like the problem is with a lot of other DAM software. I know, my Software Architect husband explained it to me, that this is a png alpha channel transparency problem.

I hope and pray that this is solved in PM 5. There is a whole world of digital scrapbooking artists/designers that are just as desperately looking for DAM software as I do.
The way some of them work now is convert all png's to tiff and than import them into Lightroom or Aperture. But as you can imagine the conversion will increase the size of the files at least 3 fold unless you can choose the way the tiff files are written.(Little or Big Endian) Most software does not give you that option.

I'm not looking forward to, as a last resort, converting at least 40,000 files to tiff, there must be another solution and I hope that solution will come with Photo mechanic 5.  Can you please enlighten me? If the answer is no, than I'm open to other suggestions.

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM 5 and png's
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2012, 07:15:56 AM »