Author Topic: PM5 IPTC fields not recognized by spotlight, Aperture  (Read 7779 times)

Offline GLS

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 IPTC fields not recognized by spotlight, Aperture
« Reply #15 on: December 13, 2012, 01:52:08 PM »
Can you suggest a way of correcting this issue? (other than saving rewriting the file and losing quality?)
Thank you in advance,

Giorgio

Offline GLS

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 IPTC fields not recognized by spotlight, Aperture
« Reply #16 on: December 16, 2012, 10:29:30 PM »
Well, something has changed, maybe in Spotlight!
Even if different data is stored in similar/equivalent fields, the index should be built on all fields.
By the way I tried my old Nikon 990 which produced in the past images that were indexed, took a picture, add a caption but no luck... still not indexed. (I also updated the IPTC to force a reindex to no luck) AND again, saving the image (see settings) makes it searchable, and it is found by spotlight!
Any word of advice?
Cheers,
Giorgio

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline GLS

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 IPTC fields not recognized by spotlight, Aperture
« Reply #17 on: December 29, 2012, 04:48:41 AM »
Hello,
the problem still persists.
The workaround I found (albeit not an ideal one...) is to search for my files in GraphicConverter, ⌘-I to edit IPTC info, and saving without any changes, and voilà everything is now correctly identified.
My take is still that PM5 does not write correctly the information, and again, if you want I can provide you files before/after.
Looking forward to finding a solution staying in PM5, best wishes to all for 2013!

Giorgio

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2478
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: PM5 IPTC fields not recognized by spotlight, Aperture
« Reply #18 on: December 29, 2012, 10:32:17 AM »
Hmm, to my knowledge PM writes the info correctly and according to the standards. If you want, I can have a look at your files to see if I can come up with an explanation. If you do, please also indicate what fields are erroneous/missing.

Cheers,
Hayo
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline GLS

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 IPTC fields not recognized by spotlight, Aperture
« Reply #19 on: December 29, 2012, 02:15:28 PM »
Hi,
in the enclosed file the caption reads "Duracell".
This can be seen by PM5, but it is not indexed by spotlight - at least on my machine...
If I "update" the IPTC info with GraphicConverter all is working.
Looking back into my library (now updated through GC) something happened with PM around sept-oct 2011 - Nikon 990 Picture files IPTC  where correctly written and indexed before.
Let me know if you find THE answer!
Thank you for your help,

Giorgio

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2478
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: PM5 IPTC fields not recognized by spotlight, Aperture
« Reply #20 on: December 30, 2012, 11:45:20 AM »
Hi Giorgio,

Had a look at your file and can't find a reason for the caption not showing up. The caption is present in both the IPTC and the XMP parts of the embedded metadata. I can't see anything wrong with that. Are you sure this is a file that's misbehaving?
Also what software have you used to edit and/or add metadata, only PM or also some other software (e.g., Photoshop)?

Also, can you upload a file that you updated with graphicconverter? This will allow me to see the difference in metadata (structure)

(I don't know GC, is it a command-line tool, what parameters did you use?)

Cheers,
Hayo
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline GLS

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 IPTC fields not recognized by spotlight, Aperture
« Reply #21 on: December 31, 2012, 06:57:13 AM »
Here is the indexed version.
Basically, opened in Graphic Converter (a quite venerable Mac tool-see app store), select image, ⌘-I, ok.
This it opens the IPTC information, and possibly it re-encodes as when saving. Anyhow it becomes indexable by spotlight.
thank you for your help,

Best wishes for 2013!

Giorgio

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline GLS

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 IPTC fields not recognized by spotlight, Aperture
« Reply #22 on: December 31, 2012, 07:31:30 AM »
And here is the Raw metadata extracted in Bridge CS6 compared with Deltawalker.
The original is on the left, the modified by GraphicConverter on the right
Small differences, but could it do it?
Cheers

Giorgio

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20596
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 IPTC fields not recognized by spotlight, Aperture
« Reply #23 on: December 31, 2012, 07:41:42 AM »
The loss of the time should not cause indexing to work.
The order of tags in XMP (or XML for that matter) shouldn't make any difference.

If anything, it is the binary structure differences in the JPEG file that are the cause of the issue.

Dennis will be back from vacation next week and I'll let him know that there is new information on this thread.

-Kirk

Offline rrasmussen01

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 IPTC fields not recognized by spotlight, Aperture
« Reply #24 on: March 08, 2013, 06:04:42 PM »
I am having the same problem: No info in the caption field is transferring on PM image files that are transferred to Aperture. I see this thread has gone idle. Does that mean it has been been addressed in recent builds? Randy

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20596
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 IPTC fields not recognized by spotlight, Aperture
« Reply #25 on: March 08, 2013, 08:32:57 PM »
I am having the same problem: No info in the caption field is transferring on PM image files that are transferred to Aperture. I see this thread has gone idle. Does that mean it has been been addressed in recent builds? Randy

No, nothing became of it.

-Kirk

Offline GLS

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 IPTC fields not recognized by spotlight, Aperture
« Reply #26 on: March 09, 2013, 01:38:24 AM »
Since Photo Mechanic Version 5.0, build 13645 (f749491) the problem has disappeared...
Cheers

Giorgio