Author Topic: Mac: Browse with Photo Mechanic  (Read 5990 times)

Offline Sven

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1022
    • View Profile
Re: Mac: Browse with Photo Mechanic
« Reply #15 on: December 10, 2012, 05:02:47 AM »
Hayo,

thanks for investigating. I tried your steps without success...
Console log shows: Finder[357]: Application com.camerabits.BrowseWithPMService didn't return pasteboard data in time

Sven
Changed from behind the cam to one who buys images as I started to run. No cam or lens left.

Offline Sven

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1022
    • View Profile
Re: Mac: Browse with Photo Mechanic
« Reply #16 on: December 10, 2012, 07:11:08 AM »
Hayo,

after several reboots all is fine now...
Thanks
Sven
Changed from behind the cam to one who buys images as I started to run. No cam or lens left.

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2499
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: Mac: Browse with Photo Mechanic
« Reply #17 on: December 10, 2012, 02:12:21 PM »
after several reboots all is fine now...

Glad it works for you again.  Still curious as to why it didn't work after the first try‚Ķ

Anyway, hope Kirk can get this fixed permanently for the future.

Cheers,
Hayo
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline ralphdaily

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Mac: Browse with Photo Mechanic
« Reply #18 on: December 10, 2012, 04:00:18 PM »
Hayo, thanks, fixed it for me first time.  No reboot needed.  Or at least first time after working past the Gatekeeper problem with right click and "open with".  the PM5 app seemed to have been fixed for Mountain Lion Gatekeeper  but not the browse with PM in services.  But ignoring that issue, the alt and find the path to PM5 you suggested worked right away.  Cool.

Ralph

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20927
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Mac: Browse with Photo Mechanic
« Reply #19 on: December 11, 2012, 12:39:53 PM »
The next build will have the service Code Signed for Gatekeeper.

-Kirk

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2499
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: Mac: Browse with Photo Mechanic
« Reply #20 on: December 11, 2012, 10:36:32 PM »
The next build will have the service Code Signed for Gatekeeper.

Good to know, but are you also going to fix the issue where the service initially doesn't find the application? Or are these related somehow?
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20927
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Mac: Browse with Photo Mechanic
« Reply #21 on: December 12, 2012, 06:54:12 AM »
Hayo,

The next build will have the service Code Signed for Gatekeeper.

Good to know, but are you also going to fix the issue where the service initially doesn't find the application? Or are these related somehow?

The code already has checks for missing paths and prompts you to choose the application to launch.
I think Apple never planned for Gatekeeper to rear its ugly head during the execution of a Service and that is the root cause of Sven's problem.

-Kirk

Offline Sven

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1022
    • View Profile
Re: Mac: Browse with Photo Mechanic
« Reply #22 on: December 12, 2012, 06:56:02 AM »
Thanks for that, Kirk.

BUT I also tried with gatekeeper disabled and the same result as initially...

Sven
Changed from behind the cam to one who buys images as I started to run. No cam or lens left.

Offline Mimot13

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Mac: Browse with Photo Mechanic
« Reply #23 on: January 02, 2013, 04:56:22 AM »
Sven, Kirk,

I've just finished a clean install of Mountain Lion on my MacBook Pro. This included a clean install of PM5 and the service "browse with PM." I can now fully describe the issue at hand as well as the workaround/solution.

Issue is simply that out of the box, the "Browse with PM" service does not work even though it shows up as an option in the Finder. I'm pretty sure it is because the service is referring to the wrong path for the application. Kirk, if this is indeed the case, I think you guys should be able to solve this easily.

Awaiting that more permanent fix, this is how you solve it yourself: open the contextual menu in the finder and instead of normal clicking, hold the alt key while clicking the "Browse with PM" option. This will present you with a dialogue box asking you to locate your version of PM. Select the application, and all should work again.

Hope this helps,
Hayo

Yes it works now and BIG thanks for your information.. Had the same problem under OS X 10.7.5 where the service called PM 4.6.9 and not PM v5. But now it's ok..!

Have a nice day.
Michael.