Author Topic: Help moving keyword library to new computer  (Read 4086 times)

Offline ericbowles

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Professional Photographer
    • View Profile
    • Bowles Images
Help moving keyword library to new computer
« on: May 01, 2013, 04:18:12 AM »
I've installed PM 5 on a new computer.  I'm trying to move my keyword library from my old computer to my new computer.  I have invested a good bit of time in keywords and keyword hierarchy and don't want to have to manually enter everything.

Where is the keyword file and how do I export it?  Can I just copy it?  And how do I import the keyword library into PM?
Eric Bowles

Offline Luiz Muzzi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • Luiz Muzzi Photography
Re: Help moving keyword library to new computer
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2013, 05:29:31 AM »
Hi,
When I upgraded PM to version 5, my keywords were automatically imported along with many other preferences from my previous version of PM.
HTH,

-Luiz Muzzi

Offline ericbowles

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Professional Photographer
    • View Profile
    • Bowles Images
Re: Help moving keyword library to new computer
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2013, 06:06:04 AM »
My upgrade was not a problem.  This is changing computers - my old one is failing and has been replaced.  PM 5 is installed, but I need to import my keyword library that is on my old computer.
Eric Bowles

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24277
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Help moving keyword library to new computer
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2013, 06:35:23 AM »
Eric,

My upgrade was not a problem.  This is changing computers - my old one is failing and has been replaced.  PM 5 is installed, but I need to import my keyword library that is on my old computer.

Is PM still running on your old computer and is it a recent version (4.6.9 or 5.0)?  If so, you can use the Export button in the Preferences dialog to export your settings.  Then you copy the file that is produced to your new computer and use the Import button in the Preferences dialog on your new computer and choose the exported file you copied over.

-Kirk

Offline ericbowles

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Professional Photographer
    • View Profile
    • Bowles Images
Re: Help moving keyword library to new computer
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2013, 07:00:13 AM »
Kirk - That's exactly what I needed.  Thanks
Eric Bowles