Author Topic: Undo a code replacement while captioning?  (Read 2940 times)

Offline danecreekphotography

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Undo a code replacement while captioning?
« on: May 18, 2013, 05:02:01 PM »
I'm getting the hang of using code replacements to help with captioning and one thing I've noticed is there's no easy way to undo a code replacement if I make a mistake. When I do ctrl-z, which I'd expect to undo the code replacement, I wind up with the entire caption text selected instead.

Is there some way to undo a code replacement?

Thanks!

Neil

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24278
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Undo a code replacement while captioning?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2013, 08:28:30 PM »
Neil,

Please see this post and furnish as much information as you can.  http://forums.camerabits.com/index.php?topic=4688.0

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline danecreekphotography

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Undo a code replacement while captioning?
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2013, 08:51:52 PM »
Er, ok. Windows 8. Photo Mechanic 5.0 build 13915. Here are the steps to reproduce the issue:

1) Open an image
2) Press I to bring up the info pane
3) Type a code replacement into the caption field (I'm using "\ss10\")
4) Press ctrl-z to undo the code replacement

Result: All the text in the field is selected
Expected result: The replacement text is converted back to \ss10\

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24278
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Undo a code replacement while captioning?
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2013, 10:47:14 PM »
Er, ok. Windows 8. Photo Mechanic 5.0 build 13915. Here are the steps to reproduce the issue:

1) Open an image
2) Press I to bring up the info pane
3) Type a code replacement into the caption field (I'm using "\ss10\")
4) Press ctrl-z to undo the code replacement

Result: All the text in the field is selected
Expected result: The replacement text is converted back to \ss10\

Thank you.  It appears to be a bug.  Windows isn't realizing the change to the text when code replacement kicks in.  I'll see what I can do to fix it in a later build of PM5.

-Kirk

Offline danecreekphotography

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Undo a code replacement while captioning?
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2013, 07:25:18 AM »
Thanks Kirk!

Neil

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24278
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Undo a code replacement while captioning?
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2013, 02:01:33 PM »
Neil,

I managed to get the Rich Edit control to pay attention to the replacement and it performs undo, but then it sends a 'changed' event and Code Replacement kicks in and performs the replacement again.  I spent hours trying to intercept the Undo command without any luck.  I can't devote any more time to it now, unfortunately.

-Kirk

Offline danecreekphotography

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Undo a code replacement while captioning?
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2013, 05:40:58 PM »
Can you at least keep the bug open for hopefully a release where you have a bit more time to look at it? Thanks!

Neil

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24278
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Undo a code replacement while captioning?
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2013, 06:14:56 PM »
Neil,

Can you at least keep the bug open for hopefully a release where you have a bit more time to look at it? Thanks!

Absolutely.  I have added it as a bug to our bug tracker.

-Kirk