Author Topic: Connecting PhotoMechanic to server  (Read 2236 times)

Offline mattsnapper

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Connecting PhotoMechanic to server
« on: March 11, 2014, 08:57:25 AM »
With Canon X users using the likes of the wft-e6a and LAN connection to send images direct to servers, has anyone out there got a good solution for mac users to read live images being sent to a server so that they can edit in real time on a laptop?

Apart from manually downloading, we have tried the likes of Crowznest but it's not the best.

Ideally Photomechanic reading the FTP location on a server is the ideal solution but at the moment I don't think that is going to happen

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20517
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Connecting PhotoMechanic to server
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2014, 09:06:08 AM »
If you can mount the server on your computer as a disk, then Photo Mechanic's Live Ingest would work well for this task.  If not, I have no solution for you.  PM does not have the ability to monitor FTP servers for new files.

-Kirk

Offline mattsnapper

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting PhotoMechanic to server
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2014, 05:29:51 AM »
thanks as always kirk..



basically...

photographers out in the field, upload images direct from the camera to a server

this server needs to be accessed by an editor who will then edit, caption and syndicate images

solutions so far :

• editor downloads manually new images in the folder to desktop
• mounting the folder as a diskimage

anyone got any solutions to this ever growing problem?!  ::)

Offline Kevin M. Cox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • PM 5 Build 19749 | macOS 10.13.6 (17G7024)
    • View Profile
    • Kevin M. Cox | Photojournalist
Re: Connecting PhotoMechanic to server
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2014, 07:59:01 PM »
Is the server on the same network as the editor?
Kevin M. Cox | Photojournalist
https://www.KevinCox.com

Offline ron_hiner

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting PhotoMechanic to server
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2014, 09:39:52 AM »
There are FTP clients that will mount an FTP connection as a local disk.   This should solve your problem.

Webdrive is one that I have used.   http://www.webdrive.com/products/webdrive-mac/