Author Topic: How PM deals with Sigma raw images  (Read 1702 times)

Offline chardinej

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
How PM deals with Sigma raw images
« on: May 04, 2014, 07:17:51 AM »
Hi- Just saw a day or so ago that the latest version(s) of PM handle raw files from the Sigma cameras. These are .x3f files from the Foveon sensor. Images display on the Contact sheet and Preview (zoom as well!) and the EXIF data for each looks good. Also you can "Save Photos as" to jpg, tif or psd.

My question is as follows- when you do a "Save Photos as" is PM reading the converting the raw file itself or just the embedded jpg (if there is one)?
John

MacBook Air i5/10.8 (Mountain Lion); PM 5 latest build

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23356
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: How PM deals with Sigma raw images
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2014, 09:02:05 AM »
It depends on your OS platform that you run Photo Mechanic on (Mac PM version supports rendering, Windows PM version doesn't support rendering) and your settings.  On the Mac version the preferences has a section for RAW handling.  The Save as dialog will also have RAW handling options.

By default, it will use the embedded JPEG preview for output.

-Kirk

Offline chardinej

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: How PM deals with Sigma raw images
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2014, 12:41:09 PM »
Here's how I have the Save as dialog box configured to save a tif. Will this force PM to use the raw?

[attachment deleted by admin]
John

MacBook Air i5/10.8 (Mountain Lion); PM 5 latest build

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23356
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: How PM deals with Sigma raw images
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2014, 01:43:33 PM »
Here's how I have the Save as dialog box configured to save a tif. Will this force PM to use the raw?

Yes, as long as your ImageIO framework is up-to-date and supports your camera.  But please note that the RAW rendering may look nothing like the JPEG preview since it uses Apple's rendering.  You may like it or you may not like it at all.  PM offers no way to manipulate any of the RAW rendering settings.

-Kirk

Offline chardinej

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: How PM deals with Sigma raw images
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2014, 03:28:39 PM »
Not sure about the inner workings but I know that Apple does not provide a way of rendering Sigma raw images out of the box.
John

MacBook Air i5/10.8 (Mountain Lion); PM 5 latest build

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23356
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: How PM deals with Sigma raw images
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2014, 03:58:04 PM »
Not sure about the inner workings but I know that Apple does not provide a way of rendering Sigma raw images out of the box.

If the Preview app shows your Sigma RAW files, then it is rendering them.  To my knowledge, the Preview app cannot access the embedded JPEG previews in any RAW file format.  If it can't render them you will get a blank window or it will show you an error message.

-Kirk

Offline chardinej

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: How PM deals with Sigma raw images
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2014, 04:23:03 PM »
It does. Thanks!
John

MacBook Air i5/10.8 (Mountain Lion); PM 5 latest build