Author Topic: new trial  (Read 8384 times)

Offline VGER

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
new trial
« on: June 30, 2014, 01:33:38 AM »
Hello,

after hearing (reading) many successful user stories about Photo Mechanic I started a trial myself this weekend. But my usage experience was that awkward that I'm sure I must have missed an important concept or two:

Being self-taught instead of having properly learned the trade of photography, I tend to overshoot. I would like to use Photo Mechanic for a "first browse" through the shots, primarily weeding out the rejects. So far, I'm using Lightroom's "X" (reject) button to mark the crap shots, and when I'm through a folder, I batch-delete them using "remove rejected images" from the menu.

When I tried to do this in Photo Mechanic, I couldn't find an equivalent. The marking features I could find were stars, colors (both not useful in this case) and tag. There was some mention of "w" ("winner") and its opposite in preview, but it didn't seem to do anything.

So I employed the tag setting using the "+" key. (It's a good thing that there's more than the toggle "T".) But the choice of this key proved to be quite bad from a layout point: I want my right hand on the arrow keys for image selection (and the occasional grip of the mouse), and the left hand on the "reject" button. Best thing I could do here was to use the "+" next to the enter key, but that still was a lunge. Can those shortcuts be redefined to something on the left hand keyboard side, e.g. "X" like in Lightroom?

An alternative would be to a) display only untagged images (done), and b) enable "auto-advance after tagging". But the latter only seemed to work in preview, not in contact sheet. Is this as-designed?