Author Topic: Erroneous sendings with Photo Mechanic  (Read 2178 times)

Offline ricdel

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Erroneous sendings with Photo Mechanic
« on: December 06, 2012, 10:59:38 AM »
Any way to avoid erroneous sendings by Photo Mechanic's ftp?
Some feature adds like a WARNING in order to avoid to send pictures to an agency instead the agency that asked us for them?
We often work in a great hurry, so, it can happen that on the morning we shoot an event, edit pix, click on Ctrl + U to open the Photo Mechanic's ftp, select our trusted agency and click on the send button. Hours later, shoot another event, edit pix, click on Ctrl + U... FORGET TO SELECT THE RIGHT AGENCY TO SEND PIX... and click on the "Send" button, sending them to the previous agency, cutting a poor figure :-[

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20953
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Erroneous sendings with Photo Mechanic
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2012, 11:38:48 AM »
Any way to avoid erroneous sendings by Photo Mechanic's ftp?
Some feature adds like a WARNING in order to avoid to send pictures to an agency instead the agency that asked us for them?
We often work in a great hurry, so, it can happen that on the morning we shoot an event, edit pix, click on Ctrl + U to open the Photo Mechanic's ftp, select our trusted agency and click on the send button. Hours later, shoot another event, edit pix, click on Ctrl + U... FORGET TO SELECT THE RIGHT AGENCY TO SEND PIX... and click on the "Send" button, sending them to the previous agency, cutting a poor figure :-[

How would Photo Mechanic warn you without being annoying?  You want it to confirm that you're going to send images to the currently selected connection setting?

-Kirk

Offline ricdel

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Erroneous sendings with Photo Mechanic
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2012, 02:01:59 PM »
Yes, Kirk! Or, better, in alternative, avoiding to leave the last ftp used on the scroll menu "Connection" of the File Uploader window. Another idea would be to set a default address (so we can set our own ftp address by default, so that in case of mistake, pictures are only sent to ourselves.  ;)

Offline Luiz Muzzi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 698
    • View Profile
    • Luiz Muzzi Photography
Re: Erroneous sendings with Photo Mechanic
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2012, 05:28:02 PM »
Hi, Kirk
Perhaps there could be a tick box saying something like Always clear "Connection" when showing this dialogue as an option for those who would like to set it manually...
Regards,

-Luiz Muzzi

Offline ricdel

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Erroneous sendings with Photo Mechanic
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2012, 05:33:04 PM »
Yes! Similar to the tick box saying "Always clear 'Move photos' option when showing this dialog" in the COPY OPTIONS window