Author Topic: Show focus points  (Read 16440 times)

Offline Luiz Muzzi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 698
    • View Profile
    • Luiz Muzzi Photography
Show focus points
« on: October 15, 2014, 04:59:22 AM »
Hi,
I would like to know whether it is possible to include the option of showing the focus points in the Preview window of PM. I know that other programs can do that, like LR for example, which is able to show the focus points by using a plugin. I think that it would be very useful if PM could show that.
Thanks is advance.

-Luiz Muzzi

Offline fabianlujan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • sports photographer
    • View Profile
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2014, 06:48:25 AM »
I would like to have that feature too!
Seems interesting when selecting from a burst of images and checking if the focus were placed in the right place.
Thanks!

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20942
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2014, 07:08:53 AM »
What is the name of the plugin?

As far as we can tell, the information that contains the focus point(s) is encrypted and is covered by the DMCA which we wouldn't want to run afoul of.

-Kirk

Offline MickO

  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2014, 11:40:42 AM »
This is the one I know about  http://www.lightroomfocuspointsplugin.com/

Canon & Nikon only for the moment.

"Besides showing the position of the focus points used, provides all available info such as focus distance, focus mode etc. Also supports cropped images."

Interesting about the encryption. No idea how the plugin authors get around that.

Mick O
Camera Bits

Offline Luiz Muzzi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 698
    • View Profile
    • Luiz Muzzi Photography
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2014, 04:16:43 AM »
This is the one I know about  http://www.lightroomfocuspointsplugin.com/

Canon & Nikon only for the moment.

"Besides showing the position of the focus points used, provides all available info such as focus distance, focus mode etc. Also supports cropped images."

Interesting about the encryption. No idea how the plugin authors get around that.



Hi, Mick
That is exactly it. And it really shows the focus distance, focus mode, etc. I have downloaded it and it appears in the Plugin Manager. See attached file to see how it looks and what info it shows.
Regards,

-Luiz Muzzi

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: October 16, 2014, 04:20:23 AM by Luiz Muzzi »

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20942
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2014, 06:26:43 AM »
Luiz,

Maybe it's just me, but the image and the focus points look off-center.  Does the image and the focus points have the ability to be panned/scrolled around?

-Kirk

Offline judophotos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
    • Judophotos
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2014, 12:32:18 PM »
I've tried it too. It works well and it is free.
David

Offline Luiz Muzzi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 698
    • View Profile
    • Luiz Muzzi Photography
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2014, 04:13:51 AM »
Luiz,

Maybe it's just me, but the image and the focus points look off-center.  Does the image and the focus points have the ability to be panned/scrolled around?

-Kirk

Kirk,
That image had been cropped and perhaps that is why they looked off-center.
To tell the truth, I have just begun using the plugin in LR and it seems to work fine.
As to your question, the image and the focus points does not have the ability to be panned or scrolle around. It is just for info.
It records the focus points as the camera records it, that is, if you just use the center point by locking focus and moving the camera before shooting, the plugin will still show the focus point in the center...
I attach another image that has not been cropped (in PM and in LR`s plugin view)
HTH,

-Luiz Muzzi

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline JS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
    • View Profile
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2014, 04:00:46 PM »
Hi,

I join the request for this feature.

-John

Offline rjp

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2015, 08:05:21 PM »
I agree this would be a very useful feature.  :)

Offline Ben Curtis

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Snappertalk blog
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2015, 03:00:39 PM »
Likewise this would be very useful...

Offline BIRDSASART

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2015, 09:21:15 AM »
Canon Digital Photo Professional shows the AF points for supported camera bodies (as an option).  It would be great if PM did the same as it is an extremely useful feature.   I do not use LR.  I pick my keepers in PM, do my conversions in DPP, and my optimizations in Photoshop.  It might sound a bit cumbersome but it is fast and seamless. artie

Offline ron_hiner

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2015, 08:32:42 AM »
I think it would more useful to show actually what is in focus, rather than what focus points the camera was using.

Focus Peaking explained...
http://forum.luminous-landscape.com/index.php?topic=56246.0

Offline fabianlujan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • sports photographer
    • View Profile
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2015, 11:55:56 AM »
Focus Peaking looks very nice!!
Also focus points is welcome ;)

Offline BlueDevilHH

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Show focus points
« Reply #14 on: May 21, 2015, 02:13:42 AM »
I don't need it in PM, but: Is there anybody who knows such a tool for Photoshop like the Lightroom-Tool?

Short explanation: The focus distance information is only available if the lens supports this feature
« Last Edit: May 21, 2015, 02:15:42 AM by BlueDevilHH »