Author Topic: How to STOP generation of XML files on import?  (Read 1055 times)

Offline lateulade

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
How to STOP generation of XML files on import?
« on: August 12, 2024, 10:53:38 AM »
I've been a Photo Mechanic user for over a decade, and after switching from the 5D MKIII to the R6 MKII, Photo Mechanic has begun generating XML files upon import. This is an issue for me because I have an offsite editor, and when uploading the files to Dropbox, I have to remember to delete the XML files every time for several photoshoots per day so that the file count on their end is correct.

How can I stop the generation of XML files? Thanks!

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: How to STOP generation of XML files on import?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2024, 12:33:19 PM »
What is the file format that you're working with?  CR3?  Something else?

-Kirk

Offline lateulade

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2024, 07:08:12 AM »
Yes, CR3.

I haven't changed any PM settings since upgrading from the 5D3, and XML files were never generated there.

As a bonus, my DJI drones import all kinds of random DJI specific files -- is there any way to set a filter to only import certain filetypes? That would be amazing.

Offline ahoward

• Camera Bits Staff
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2024, 09:28:24 AM »
Photo Mechanic cannot currently embed metadata into CR3 files like it can for most other RAW-formats. Ingest always does some small metadata updates, and those need to be written somewhere, so since it cannot embed it in the file, it gets written to XMP. You can use Copy/Move to copy CR3 files without creating XMP (although any further metadata changes that you make to your files will create an XMP anyway).