Author Topic: Photo mechanic blocked from opening by Smart app.  (Read 35 times)

Offline joner

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Photo mechanic blocked from opening by Smart app.
« on: April 11, 2026, 01:13:00 PM »
PM was blocked from opening by Smart App in Win11 today (it worked fine yesterday) and then when I tried again, a dialogue box showed in PM stating a GPS feature would now be disabled to ensure it can run. PM then opened but whatever that feature is (dialogue box disappeared and cannot be recreated) isn't running.

Can you clarify what the issue is and any limitation in running the software now this feature has apparently been disabled, plus any information on why this app is now treated as unsigned and was blocked in windows today.

Edit: I realised I was not running the latest build so updated and the app has now opened. I am still not sure whatever GPS feature was blocked is running or what it does so any hint on limitations I am causing by it being possibly disabled would be good if possible.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 25627
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo mechanic blocked from opening by Smart app.
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2026, 05:43:53 PM »
PM was blocked from opening by Smart App in Win11 today (it worked fine yesterday) and then when I tried again, a dialogue box showed in PM stating a GPS feature would now be disabled to ensure it can run. PM then opened but whatever that feature is (dialogue box disappeared and cannot be recreated) isn't running.

Can you clarify what the issue is and any limitation in running the software now this feature has apparently been disabled, plus any information on why this app is now treated as unsigned and was blocked in windows today.

Edit: I realised I was not running the latest build so updated and the app has now opened. I am still not sure whatever GPS feature was blocked is running or what it does so any hint on limitations I am causing by it being possibly disabled would be good if possible.

It was the Reverse Geocoding feature.  If it has been disabled (it was what the dialog box was offering to turn off for you, so depending on your choice, it may be disabled) then you can enable it again in the Preferences dialog (Reverse Geocoding page).

HTH,

-Kirk