Author Topic: How do I do this workflow with PM?  (Read 5471 times)

Offline switters

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
How do I do this workflow with PM?
« on: September 17, 2016, 11:38:45 AM »
I'm a hobbyist, but I shoot a fair amount each week. For years, after each shoot my workflow has been the following:
  • Insert card and import photos into Lightroom
  • Delete rejects and then choose selects
  • Process selects

The result of this workflow has been that I have a few hundred selects in my portfolio stored on my hard drive, but also many thousands of pictures that weren't selects, but weren't rejects either, that I will never do anything with.

On a Fuji forum I participate in someone there mentioned that he uses PM to choose selects (or really any photo that might be one), and then copies those to his hard drive. He doesn't even bother importing average images that he'll never work on. This appeals to me.

In my case, I'd like to do the following:
  • Insert card and choose selects with PM from contact sheet
  • Copy selects to hard drive
  • Import selects into Lightroom
  • Process in Lightroom, Photoshop, plugins, etc.

I'm looking for the fastest/most automated way of doing #2 & #3 in the list above. Once I have the selects chosen via color rating, I sort the images by color, then select all of the ones with the pink color. From there I choose "Copy/Move to..." (I think there's a keyboard shortcut, but not remembering it now) and copy only those photos to a folder on my hard drive. I then import those into LR, and delete the files from the folder.

Is that the most efficient way to do it?

Offline Mike Miller

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Re: How do I do this workflow with PM?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2016, 09:33:21 AM »