Author Topic: Copy Previous Photo Shortcut  (Read 1753 times)

Offline flyfifer

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Copy Previous Photo Shortcut
« on: April 11, 2022, 04:33:35 AM »
REQUEST: A keyboard shortcut that automatically overwrites the current photo's metadata and keywords with those in the previous photo.

DESCRIPTION: I'm a sports photographer and use PM for all my keyword tagging. Sometimes, I will have a burst of photos that I want to keep because they combine to tell a story. Generally, these photos will all require the same metadata and keywords. Something like the Previous button in Lightroom would be really useful here. But, given I'm typing into these text boxes, it needs to be able to be invoked from the keyboard so that I never have to take my hands away from the keys.

WORKAROUND: My current process is:
1. To go to the next photo
2. Recognise that it requires a copy of the previous photo's keywords
3. Go back to the previous photo
4. Select all in the keyword text box and copy
5. Go back to the next photo
6. Select all in the keyword text box and overwrite through paste

ISSUES:
1. If I'm editing a game's worth of photos, I typically won't recognise that I need to do this until I've already gone to the next photo.
2. If there are multiple fields that require synchronisation, then I either have to do this iteratively or using a clipboard manager.
3. Way more steps/keypresses than I want to do.

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Copy Previous Photo Shortcut
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2022, 06:53:40 AM »
Sounds like you want this Previous button to exist on a field-by-field basis?  If every field had a Previous button, it wouldn't be manageable to have keyboard shortcuts for each of them.  Would only specific Previous buttons have assigned keyboard shortcuts?

Perhaps I have misunderstood you?

-Kirk

Offline flyfifer

• Newcomer
    • View Profile