Author Topic: Metadata - which fields to use?  (Read 1147 times)

Offline Skids

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Metadata - which fields to use?
« on: June 06, 2022, 11:49:04 PM »
Hi,

I am new to Photo Mechanic and am interested in using it in an attempt to beat my collection of images into shape.  In the past I have used other applications to set keywords and the odd star rating but now I wish to store meta data in more appropriate fields and I wonder if there is a guide to which of the multitude of IPTC/XMP data fields should be used?

For example I chose a set of images taken on a photography day that was held in a local village hall.  The location I would like to assign to my images is :

St. Nicholas Church grounds and hall
Haxey
Isle of Axholme
Doncaster
North Lincolnshire
U.K

and I would like to know which fields should be used to store this address.

This paragraph concentrates on the "city" fields but my more general question is which fields should be used.  Looking at a single image in Photo Mechanic's default information pane "Metadata(IPTC) info" shows a list of fields grouped under headings forming blocks of associated data fields. Two of these blocks contain fields that record addresses. 

The first block has a title of "Event and Location" and includes for example a field named "City".  The next block is named "Locations Taken and Shown" and that also includes a field named "City".  Reviewing the list of "Searchable Fields" shows a field named "City" described as "city.legacy" and another field named as "Location Shown: City" is described as  "shown.city". 

Am I correct in thinking that the "Location Shown:" is referring to the block with the heading "Locations Taken and Shown" in the Info pane and that this is the more modern set of data fields that should be used over the fields marked legacy and is storing data in variable "shown.city" ?