Author Topic: Automatic crop during ingest  (Read 626 times)

Offline ulrik

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Automatic crop during ingest
« on: May 14, 2023, 04:44:57 AM »
Hi,

As a sports photographer, I have to upload as quickly as possible so I'm looking at each part of the workflow to improve it.

I'm using "paste crop" and then I was thinking if that would be possible to add it when ingesting photos. I would save a bit and it is all ready copied.

Thanks.

Ulrik

Offline ahoward

• Camera Bits Staff
    • View Profile
Re: Automatic crop during ingest
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2023, 11:39:05 AM »
We are curious what the benefits to this would be. I can see how two similar images might benefit from the same crop, but it seems like you'd have to adjust this automatic crop after it gets added anyway, so at that point wouldn't it be simplest to draw the crop with one click and drag instead of adjusting a crop that doesn't work for the image? Not to say that this couldn't be added, just trying to understand the benefits.

Offline ulrik

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Re: Automatic crop during ingest
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2023, 03:03:16 AM »
Hi.

Thanks for replying.

Its basically to be able to save a second or two per photo (which can be quite a lot for the 15 minutes we have during a football game)  Most of the photos I have to upload is landscape, around the same ratio, and they have to be cropped just a little bit so some of the crops (with the above) doesnt have to be changed and some a minor change.

So as I wrote, Im somehow nitpicking now and trying to get seconds or less in improvements. Due to your amazing software Im all ready extremely quick. I could happily live with the current photo mechanic for many many years so, as I wrote regarding somebody else posting about PM7 (I added below), its largely about the extent of what is the objective with PM, some objectives I personally have and nitpicking, trying to save a second or less during different tasks.