Author Topic: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus  (Read 1286 times)

Offline ahoward

  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
    • View Profile

Offline jose

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2024, 01:08:17 PM »
oh, I read it late... installed macOS Sonoma 14.3 and I can confirm that everything related to the catalog has gone blank... I may go a few days without accessing the catalog.

Offline atphoto

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2024, 03:49:32 PM »
same for me. Is there any update on when there will be a fix for this?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24691
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2024, 03:54:07 PM »
same for me. Is there any update on when there will be a fix for this?

Apple is working on a workaround for the next Sonoma release, but they haven't given us a time frame.

I'm asking them for more information in the hope that there's something we can do on our end that will make the Catalog features work properly again.

-Kirk

Offline Jon Paul Davidson

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2024, 08:16:27 PM »
I have given up!  Kirk, I wrote once before and I see others have written: After upgrading to Sonoma, (Now 14.3.1), When I select Catalog in the Menu, "SCAN TO CATALOG"- and everything below it simply opens a blank window and nothing happens!  If this is a problem with Sonoma(which it looks like it is), could you not have sent an eMail blast to everyone using PM+ warning them about this?  I never saw anything.  Some of us are too busy working with our images to keep checking the Forums, and this was a devastating blow to have discovered. ( I even threw away everything including the app and downloaded it fresh. --Noted that that process never asked for my License code!!  Sounds like everything is broken.  Please send an alert notice to everyone's eMail telling us what to do. - Jon Davidson <jonpuldavidsion@gmail.com>

Offline Kevin M. Cox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 510
  • PM 6 (6890) | macOS 14.3
    • View Profile
    • Kevin M. Cox | Photojournalist
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2024, 11:41:00 AM »
I suggest going into the Announcements forum and clicking the "NOTIFY" button on the top right. You'll get an email every time a post is made by Camera Bits staff.

https://forums.camerabits.com/index.php?board=15.0
Kevin M. Cox | Photojournalist
https://www.instagram.com/kevin.m.cox/

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24691
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2024, 04:56:26 PM »
Please see this post for welcome news on this issue:

https://forums.camerabits.com/index.php?topic=16020.msg78312#msg78312

-Kirk

Offline jose

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2024, 03:06:41 AM »
Installed the new Photo Mechanic Plus Version 6.0, build 7051 (6c14184).

I have not tested it thoroughly, but at first glance everything looks fine again.
Thank you for the quick reaction!

saludos,
jose.

Offline boj

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2024, 01:48:35 PM »
Installed the new Photo Mechanic Plus Version 6.0, build 7051 (6c14184).

This version seems to be fine, I have worked a few hours with it.

M2 MacBook Air and macOS Sonoma 14.3.

Offline DavidHoffmanuk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 292
    • View Profile
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2024, 05:07:12 AM »
I'm still on 14.2.1. Would you recommend upgrading to this new version anyway?
David Hoffman

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24691
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #10 on: February 01, 2024, 11:17:36 AM »
David,

I'm still on 14.2.1. Would you recommend upgrading to this new version anyway?

You're welcome to do so, but we'll be releasing an official build soon so you may as well wait for it to be released.

-Kirk

Offline krakouer

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #11 on: February 01, 2024, 08:53:07 PM »
Thanks for the patch (before Apple's OS update), many thanks devs

Offline mhobi

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #12 on: February 01, 2024, 11:28:57 PM »
Thank you all for the quick fix, everything works fine for me  :)

Offline gianmaria.zanotti

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2024, 11:13:40 PM »
Can you explain to us how we can use Photo Mechanic with an updated Mac? you may have noticed that the update did not resolve the problem....

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24691
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: MacOS Sonoma 14.3 breaks critical functionality in Photo Mechanic Plus
« Reply #14 on: February 09, 2024, 08:30:42 AM »
Can you explain to us how we can use Photo Mechanic with an updated Mac? you may have noticed that the update did not resolve the problem....

https://forums.camerabits.com/index.php?topic=16020.msg78312#msg78312