Author Topic: ICC color profile problem when converting from camera RAW to DNG format  (Read 4402 times)

Offline Robert

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Hi all,

I'm new to Photo Mechanic (Mac OS X, version 4.5.2) and Adobe Camera Raw 4.1.
I've taken Canon EOS 5D raw files with the setting on the camera that the images are taken in the Adobe1998 color model.  I then download these raw-files (CR2) to disk and open them in PhotoMechanic. All relevant camera metadata including the correct ICC profile (Adome1998) pops up under the 'Camera Info' window-tab.
I use Adobe Camera Raw 4.1 (part of CS3) to correct the raw files followed by a conversion to DNG-files. So far so good. However, when I open the DNG-files in Photo Mechanic and look at the camera info I can only see part of the metadata which I see in the raw-file. Fields are blank and the ICC profile is sRGB instead of Adobe1998.
I then loaded the same DNG-files in Photoshop CS3. Looking at the "File Info" in Photoshop the color model appears to be Adobe 1998 which is correct. My settings in Photoshop CS3 are a default color model of Adobe1998 and a warning when an image is loaded with a different color model. This warning doesn't show up thus the colo model apparently is Adobe1998.

Why do I see a different color model in Photo Mechanic? Am I doing something wrong or do i misunderstand someting?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Robert Kroon

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: ICC color profile problem when converting from camera RAW to DNG format
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2007, 04:28:43 PM »
Robert,

I'm new to Photo Mechanic (Mac OS X, version 4.5.2) and Adobe Camera Raw 4.1.