Author Topic: New Workflow Needed  (Read 3193 times)

Offline jmc

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
New Workflow Needed
« on: May 20, 2009, 11:11:35 AM »
I have been using Aperture for everything for 3 years, but I have a new gig that requires Photo Mechanic or Adobe Bridge for IPTC.  From what I gather, Aperture doesn't handle IPTC correctly.  I try to avoid using Adobe programs where possible, so I'm willing to pay to buy Photo Mechanic even though I already have CS3/Bridge.

The concern I have now is workflow.  I know I could import into Aperture, make my selects, edit, crop and then export to a folder that I would open in Photo Mechanic and apply IPTC.  This seems backwards as it gives away Photo Mechanic's ingest speed. 

So if I ingest into Photo Mechanic, make my selects, apply IPTC and then save to a folder and import into Aperture, edit and crop, will the IPTC be intact (exactly as if was in Photo Mechanic) when I FTP the files out of Aperture to the server?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: New Workflow Needed
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2009, 03:06:57 PM »
I have been using Aperture for everything for 3 years, but I have a new gig that requires Photo Mechanic or Adobe Bridge for IPTC.  From what I gather, Aperture doesn't handle IPTC correctly.  I try to avoid using Adobe programs where possible, so I'm willing to pay to buy Photo Mechanic even though I already have CS3/Bridge.

The concern I have now is workflow.  I know I could import into Aperture, make my selects, edit, crop and then export to a folder that I would open in Photo Mechanic and apply IPTC.  This seems backwards as it gives away Photo Mechanic's ingest speed.