Photo Mechanic > General Discussion

Easiest and best way to sort

(1/1)

dmgoodson:
I'm new to PM and really just plan to us it to sort and move images to LR.  Nothing too complicated.

What would be the absolute easiest way for me to do that in PM?  I'm used to the LR method with using P and X.  There I can also leave the Caps Lock on to move through them without having to use an arrow button to go to the next photo. 

Is there an easy way to do this in PM.  I just want to be able to zip through the images really fast (since this is for weddings) marking them as keepers or trash and not using arrows to move to the next image.

Help!   

Kirk Baker:

--- Quote from: dmgoodson on March 07, 2010, 09:37:30 AM ---I'm new to PM and really just plan to us it to sort and move images to LR.  Nothing too complicated.

What would be the absolute easiest way for me to do that in PM?  I'm used to the LR method with using P and X.  There I can also leave the Caps Lock on to move through them without having to use an arrow button to go to the next photo. 
--- End quote ---

Not being a Lightroom user myself, please tell me what P and X do in Lightroom.

--- Quote from: dmgoodson ---Is there an easy way to do this in PM.  I just want to be able to zip through the images really fast (since this is for weddings) marking them as keepers or trash and not using arrows to move to the next image.
--- End quote ---

You can press 'T' (or 't') in the Preview window to tag an image, or use number keys to rate or set color labels, and you can set a preference to tell the Preview window to advance to the next photo when a tag, rating or color class is set.  Is that what you're looking for?

-Kirk

dmgoodson:
In LR, X is for reject and P is to Select as a pick. 

You can hit Caps Lock and after marking each image X or P, it automatically jumps to the next image in line.

Then at the end, you can Delete all Rejects.