Author Topic: Custom color classes. Can't type  (Read 4989 times)

Offline fabianlujan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • sports photographer
    • View Profile
Custom color classes. Can't type
« on: September 04, 2015, 05:52:29 AM »
Hello
I use several sets of color classes, depending the customer.
For one particular, I have to use custom colors because they need it.
In Preferences, General, Color Classes, color arrow and More Colors..., I can't type the RGB numbers in order to get the colors I need.
I can only type 2 characters. For example, to have RGB 255.255.0 I can type "25"; "25" and "0".
Seems like the box only allows 2 characters.
With the slider I can get the number.

Any idea?

Thanks!!

Offline Mick O (Camera Bits)

  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 541
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits
Re: Custom color classes. Can't type
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2015, 08:30:52 AM »
Hi there Fabian,

What version of Photo Mechanic are you on?  I am able to type in three digits into the RGB sliders dialog in PM Version 5  build 16438  (Edit: This shows the version for Apple OS X.    Windows version will differ. See posts below)

-Mick

« Last Edit: September 08, 2015, 01:58:09 PM by MickO »
Mick O
Camera Bits

Offline fabianlujan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • sports photographer
    • View Profile
Re: Custom color classes. Can't type
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2015, 04:50:45 AM »
My version is: 5.0 build 16438 (e61be25)
Running Windows 7

Thanks!

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24817
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Custom color classes. Can't type
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2015, 09:58:35 AM »
Fabian,

My version is: 5.0 build 16438 (e61be25)
Running Windows 7

Could you please post a JPEG screen shot showing the problem?  Use the 'Attachments and other options' link when you're composing your reply to this message and there you'll be able to upload your JPEG format screenshot.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline fabianlujan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • sports photographer
    • View Profile
Re: Custom color classes. Can't type
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2015, 06:21:24 AM »
Here's the capture.
I'm trying to type 255 in Red. The typing halts in 25.
The Green was already 255 so it appears good.
If I use the slider, I can reach 255.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24817
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Custom color classes. Can't type
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2015, 07:02:14 AM »
Fabian,

Here's the capture.
I'm trying to type 255 in Red. The typing halts in 25.
The Green was already 255 so it appears good.
If I use the slider, I can reach 255.

What happens if you move your cursor to between the two and the five and type another 5?

-Kirk

Offline fabianlujan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • sports photographer
    • View Profile
Re: Custom color classes. Can't type
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2015, 07:14:55 AM »
I can't type.
Type 2, type 5 and ok, but no more typing. No more room for another character.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24817
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Custom color classes. Can't type
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2015, 09:07:22 AM »
Fabian,

I can't type.
Type 2, type 5 and ok, but no more typing. No more room for another character.

That's very strange.  I'll see what I can do to address the problem in the next update.

-Kirk

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24817
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Custom color classes. Can't type
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2015, 11:11:02 AM »
Fabian,

I am unable to reproduce this problem on my system.  Could this be yet another issue specific to your computer like that Star Rating filter widget recently?

-Kirk

Offline fabianlujan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • sports photographer
    • View Profile
Re: Custom color classes. Can't type
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2015, 11:19:34 AM »
Not sure if my laptop is the problem.
What I can see is that colors window is different from your capture to mine.
Got tons of windows like this in Photoshop, Illustrator and other apps and they work fine.
This only one window behave like I said.
Thanks!!

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24817
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Custom color classes. Can't type
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2015, 11:59:29 AM »
Fabian,

Not sure if my laptop is the problem.
What I can see is that colors window is different from your capture to mine.
Got tons of windows like this in Photoshop, Illustrator and other apps and they work fine.
This only one window behave like I said.
Thanks!!

The screenshot that Mick posted is of the Mac OS X version, they are not the same implementation.  On Windows, we use the Microsoft-provided CColorDialog for creating custom colors.

-Kirk

Offline fabianlujan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • sports photographer
    • View Profile
Re: Custom color classes. Can't type
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2015, 12:07:51 PM »
I will investigate about the CColorDialog problem outside PM.
Thanks!

Offline Odd Skjaeveland

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
    • View Profile
Re: Custom color classes. Can't type
« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2015, 12:57:16 PM »
Here's the capture.
I'm trying to type 255 in Red. The typing halts in 25.
The Green was already 255 so it appears good.
If I use the slider, I can reach 255.

I wonder if you are trying to set an impossible/illegal combinationof values. What happens if you set Hue to zero and then try to adjust the value for the red component?

When I start out with the default settings for the red color tag, I see Hue=0, Red=255, Sat=240, Green=0, Lum=120 and Blue=0. Setting (typing) your value 76 into Hue, immediately changes the value for Red from 255 to 26 and the value for Green from 0 to 255.
--
Odd S.

Offline fabianlujan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • sports photographer
    • View Profile
Re: Custom color classes. Can't type
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2015, 01:12:14 PM »
Hello,

I can't type anything longer than 2 characters.
If everthing is zero, I only can type 2 characters and no more.
:(
Thanks anyway!