Author Topic: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows  (Read 58856 times)

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20517
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2007, 07:24:32 AM »
Intel MacBook, OSX 10.4.9.

Can not seem to open captions saved in XMP format.

4.4.3.3 can still open my saved XMP captions.

I have fixed this in a development version.  If you're trying to open them into the IPTC Stationery Pad, then another way is to drag and drop the XMP file onto the Photo Mechanic icon in the dock.  Do this when no dialogs are open and the file will load into the IPTC Stationery Pad.  You'll see a confirmation dialog.

-Kirk

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20517
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #16 on: March 20, 2007, 07:25:44 AM »
Where has the code replacement dialogue box gone to?

I can't seem to find it.

It is now accessible from the Edit menu instead of buried inside the IPTC/XMP tab of the Preferences dialog.

-Kirk

Offline daveh

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #17 on: March 20, 2007, 08:11:39 AM »
Many thanks for the pointers.

Very much appreciated.

(Still no arbitary rotation of crop box.?  ;D)

So in he meantime, I just have to generste the captions in PM 4.4.3.3 or PS then drop them into PM 4.5.

Offline NaturePix

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • Peter Llewellyn Photography
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #18 on: March 20, 2007, 08:14:49 AM »
Hi Kirk

Sorry posted this before but in wrong place

As usual great improvements to the product.

I was wondering if there was any way we could add a selection to the labels in the contact sheet so that for example the full contents of the caption field are viewable instead of a truncated one line version?

Another question refers to the structured keywords. Is there any way that I can add my own structured list to suit my specialized subject area? I have been trying to do this but clicking on 'Add Path" results in Photomechanic crashing. I am using a Macbookpro if this helps.

Peter
International Sports, Wildlife and Nature Photography

Offline smorgan42

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #19 on: March 20, 2007, 08:37:59 AM »
Thanks for all the great work. The new html templates look great, they'll be a huge time saver.

Quick question though: You said before that there would be a "clear cache" somewhere in 4.5. I'm looking but I can't find it. Is this feature here?

Also, I just wanted to confirm that there is no way to change the case of iptc variable fields, right? By this I mean have the city field be all caps, but have the {City} var return lower case or first case capitalized only. This was asked for, but not you can only do so much, I know.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20517
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #20 on: March 20, 2007, 08:46:03 AM »
Many thanks for the pointers.

Very much appreciated.

(Still no arbitary rotation of crop box.?  ;D)

So in he meantime, I just have to generste the captions in PM 4.4.3.3 or PS then drop them into PM 4.5.

There will be another beta (later today, likely) that will address this issue and as many others as get reported to us.

-Kirk

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20517
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #21 on: March 20, 2007, 08:47:26 AM »
Thanks for all the great work. The new html templates look great, they'll be a huge time saver.

Quick question though: You said before that there would be a "clear cache" somewhere in 4.5. I'm looking but I can't find it. Is this feature here?

No, it didn't make it.

Quote from: smorgan42
Also, I just wanted to confirm that there is no way to change the case of iptc variable fields, right? By this I mean have the city field be all caps, but have the {City} var return lower case or first case capitalized only. This was asked for, but not you can only do so much, I know.

That didn't make it either.

Sorry.

-Kirk

Offline soren steffen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #22 on: March 20, 2007, 09:07:08 AM »

Hi Kirk,
Just ingested 335 files today.
They were sorted by filename, but they somehow ingested randomly. A block of the first files were ingested last and some were ingested randomly into the contact sheet.




Offline davidgordon

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
    • davidgordon.co.uk
Copyright flag not set in Photoshop
« Reply #23 on: March 20, 2007, 10:10:21 AM »
EDITED to save my embarresment.... I’ve been told before PM doesn’t switch the copyright flag with TIFFs...
--
DG
« Last Edit: March 20, 2007, 12:16:35 PM by davidgordon »

Offline Shadow

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
    • Propaganda
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #24 on: March 20, 2007, 10:43:30 AM »
Opps, didn't see this threat when I was in feature requests:

Love the new structured keywords.

I'm in the process of writing all my keywords into the new structured mode, but would like to see a drag and drop interface to make this easier, such as Aperture uses. I could then take my existing keywords and re-arrange them by dragging and dropping into various categories and structures.

I'd also like to be able to drag a keyword from the floating pallet onto an image.

Would it also be possible to access the floating pallet when in preview mode? Or build it into the boxes on the side of the preview window?

Also, is it possible to rearrange the elements in the IPTC window? It would be nice to customise this window to just the fields I use and also in an order I like.

Offline rsorbo

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #25 on: March 20, 2007, 11:51:00 AM »
How do you toggle between tabs using the keyboard shortcut?
When toggling between contact sheets in 4.4 I can use command/-~ buttons, which works great.
That doesn't work with the beta.
I'm using Mac OS 10.4.9.
Thanks,

Rob

Offline SamFrost

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
    • View Profile
    • Sam Frost Photography
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #26 on: March 20, 2007, 12:05:56 PM »
How do you toggle between tabs using the keyboard shortcut?
When toggling between contact sheets in 4.4 I can use command/-~ buttons, which works great.
That doesn't work with the beta.
I'm using Mac OS 10.4.9.
Thanks,

Rob

I was going to ask how you can switch between tabs on the keyboard too.  Any chance it could be (on a Mac) Command-Shift-[ or -] to move to the previous or next tab, to match Safari?

Offline dbrouse

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
    • DC Corporate Headshots
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #27 on: March 20, 2007, 03:25:52 PM »
Where has the code replacement dialogue box gone to?

I can't seem to find it.

TIA

Dave...it's now under the menu     
           Edit
               -->Set Code Replacements....

Took me a minute to find it and I KNEW where it was :)

Delane
Delane B. Rouse/Rouse Photography Group, LLC
Mac OS: Version 10.7.4, Build 12713

Offline dbrouse

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
    • DC Corporate Headshots
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #28 on: March 20, 2007, 03:31:13 PM »

Hi Kirk,
Just ingested 335 files today.
They were sorted by filename, but they somehow ingested randomly. A block of the first files were ingested last and some were ingested randomly into the contact sheet.





Soren...I think it's the # of digits that you have in the middle (after your DATE), when you have 319 and 32 (as seen in your screen capture), the next image would be 320 then 321, 322...329, then 33, then 330, 331, 332...

I think you need to have the same # of digits to get it to sort the way you want it.  I'd use 4 digits so I could go to 9999 before there was a problem. 

Does this make sense?

Delane

Delane B. Rouse/Rouse Photography Group, LLC
Mac OS: Version 10.7.4, Build 12713

Offline Frantisek Vlcek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic 4.5 Public Beta for Mac OS X and Windows
« Reply #29 on: March 20, 2007, 03:38:56 PM »
BUG found: Closing Navigator crashes PM (Beta r.0319)

Windows XP SP2, Athlon.

When closing Navigator pane (which opened just fine previously), either from menu or by clicking the little "x", whole PM exits ungracefuly. PMCrashReporter doesn't start up though, and no crashlog is generated on hdd AFAIK.
Favourites pane doesn't exhibit this bug.

Another, but very small thing, when the IPTC stationery is maximised (ie no scrolling is possible, the scrolling code redraws it randomly obscuring few lines. This returns to normal when one releases the mouse button stopping the scrolling. Might be just video card/driver issue though.

Thanks. Looking much forward to 4.5.1 ;-) Even so, the new features in 4.5 look great! Frantisek