Author Topic: Tags and flags  (Read 2694 times)

Offline awfreelance

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • awp
Tags and flags
« on: August 17, 2013, 08:50:17 AM »
hi,  Just started using PM5 and finding it very useful!

Is there a way to use the TAG in PM5 so that Lightroom 5 sees it as FLAGGED?   thanks.
Andrew
------------------------------------------------------
awp.co.uk
PM5/LR5/win 7x64 12M RAM

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21337
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Tags and flags
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2013, 10:12:57 AM »
No.  Lightroom does not see our tags and Lightroom doesn't write its flag into the images or XMP sidecar files (it keeps flags only in its database.)  We write our tag to XMP but Lightroom ignores them.  We asked the Lightroom team to write their flags to XMP or use our tag value years ago but they never implemented such a feature.

-Kirk

Offline awfreelance

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • awp
Re: Tags and flags
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2013, 11:13:40 AM »
That is disappointing - although I appreciate it is down to LR and not PM5.  I suppose that means importing to LR - selecting images - processing - export as jpeg and then keyword/caption in PM.  I really wanted to do it the other way around.  Ho Hum!
Andrew
------------------------------------------------------
awp.co.uk
PM5/LR5/win 7x64 12M RAM

Offline MickO

  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 354
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits
Re: Tags and flags
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2013, 11:47:46 AM »
That is disappointing - although I appreciate it is down to LR and not PM5.  I suppose that means importing to LR - selecting images - processing - export as jpeg and then keyword/caption in PM.  I really wanted to do it the other way around.  Ho Hum!

Not sure if this was clear as a new user but I do want to point out that while Tags do not transfer over, the Star Ratings and Color Classes* can be done in Photo Mechanic, and those attributes do indeed transfer to Lightroom just fine.  If you weren't using those tools already than you can use those to make your selections in PM first.

Using color classes that transfer to LR requires you to rename them as described here:
http://wiki.camerabits.com/en/index.php?title=Preferences#Maximizing_IPTC.2FXMP_Compatibility

-Mick
Mick O
Camera Bits

Offline robert s.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: Tags and flags
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2013, 07:07:13 AM »
Hy Andrew,

maybe this link is interesting for you.

http://connywallstrom.com/synchronize-photo-mechanic/
Greetings from Germany,
Robert

Hope is not the conviction that something wil turn out well,
but the cercainty, that someting makes sense, regardless of how it turns out.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21337
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Tags and flags
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2013, 07:44:05 AM »
Robert,

maybe this link is interesting for you.

http://connywallstrom.com/synchronize-photo-mechanic/

Synchronizing the color class with the IPTC Urgency field should be unnecessary.  The only apps that I know of that needs that feature turned on is Nikon Capture NX/NX2 and Nikon View NX.

-Kirk