Author Topic: Importing data from MediaPro  (Read 2184 times)

Offline Borgerth

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Importing data from MediaPro
« on: June 17, 2021, 09:42:19 AM »
Hi there
PM+ 6.0 build 5820 (a6fdfbc)
Windows 10 Home
First, I’m new to Photo Mechanic so apologies in advance if my question(s) have something to do with my lack of familiarity with the software.
I have already searched support/forum for a solution for my problem with no luck.
I am trying to find a way to import data from a different DAM/database software (Phaseone MediaPro) into a PM+ catalogue.
I know that files added to a PM+ catalogue will bring all imbedded metadata with them, but I have two specific issues I would like to point out/try to find a solution for:
First, I’m talking about thousands of images, terabytes of data saved across several external drives which have already been catalogued using a different DAM software.
There must be a way to import at least a basic set of info from the existing database into PM+ without having to go through the incredibly time-consuming and painful process of mounting every single drive in order to have all images catalogued again.
I can export a XML file from my original MediaPro catalogue but found no way to import the resulting XML into PM+. I have exported a MediaPro test XML file with thumbnails, managed to create a PM+ catalogue using the XML exported thumbnails but have no way (at least can’t find a way …) to bring in and/or associate all the other data contained in the XML with the images imported. Being a database, PM+ should be able to import information from other databases.
Secondly, how can I get my MediaPro custom fields data imported into PM+?
Everything is there, embedded in the file XMP info (example below) but I don’t know how to get it to show in PM+. I could create a Metadata template and have unused IPTC fields to display the info I need but don’t know how to get the original data in PM+ to start with.
I hope you can help
Thanks