Author Topic: Rookie code replacement question  (Read 550 times)

Offline bazography

• View Profile
Rookie code replacement question
« on: May 18, 2023, 01:19:28 PM »
I have never used code replacements before but I have now figured out how to use them to tweak some camera metadata, which I’m writing to an unused field when I ingest images.

Rookie question...
Is it possible to tell PM to only use code replacements when I import from a specific camera (in this case model = OM-1) and ignore code replacements otherwise?

I realize I could create a snapshot of my ingest settings specifically for that camera, but normally my ingest setting never change, so the chances of me remembering to switch back and forth after all these years are decreasing with every gray hair. So if there is an automated way of doing it that would be ideal.

Offline Mick O (Camera Bits)

• Camera Bits Staff
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits
Re: Rookie code replacement question
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2023, 02:42:45 PM »
Hi bazography,

One way you could approach this is to make Your codes have "OM-1" in them and them and then insert the {model} variable into the full code replacement string. 

Example code replacement line:

Code: [Select]
OM-1_foo New text

Then  use this in a PM field:

={model}_foo=

For any files from the OM-1, that will replace to "New text" and for other cameras, the "default replacement" would be inserted. You could set this up with all the models you use for different replacements based on the camera model.

Depending on the situation, though, it might be cleaner to use Hot Codes, which allow for empty default replacements so that for non-OM-1 cameras, nothing would be inserted

The Code Replacement file for that might look something like this (I will attach the .tsv, too):

// Code Replacement file with Hot Codes for Photo Mechanic
//== {model}
//## foo
OM-1 New text
//??