Author Topic: Partial Offline Storage Catalog  (Read 731 times)

Offline mike@breezewaystudio.com

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Partial Offline Storage Catalog
« on: November 12, 2023, 08:16:11 AM »
I'm new to PM+ cataloging, I've done a brief search on this subject to no avail, forgive me if this has been covered.

I've created a catalog of all my files on a NAS. The catalog and it's proxies reside on a local drive. I would like to delete a large portion of the NAS files but still have them in my catalog.

I've created a test catalog and found that if I delete a file in Navigator/Favorites, the proxy is also deleted in the catalog. I've tried several times of restoring the deleted files from the Recycle Bin, rescanning the test catalog, rebooting PM+ and creating a new Organizer "" search. The files are present. I delete as mentioned, create a new "" search, and the files are gone from the catalog.

If I delete the files via Windows Explorer, when I view the catalog the proxies are present with the yellow offline indicator.

Please advise if I'm deleting files in PM+ incorrectly; or if I'm to use, in my case, Bridge to browse and delete files off the NAS.

Many thanks.

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Partial Offline Storage Catalog
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2023, 08:03:28 PM »
I'm new to PM+ cataloging, I've done a brief search on this subject to no avail, forgive me if this has been covered.

I've created a catalog of all my files on a NAS. The catalog and it's proxies reside on a local drive. I would like to delete a large portion of the NAS files but still have them in my catalog.