Author Topic: Separating jpeg's and mp4 files into separate folders in one ingest?  (Read 497 times)

Offline MRB

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Greetings,
I'm new to PM and have figured out most requirements for most of my needs except separating file types.  My camera stores photos and videos in the same folder and I intend to use the incremental ingest after each day of my upcoming trip.  Is there a way PM can write jpeg files to one folder and mp4 files to another - preferably under the same job name folders such as tripname_date_photos/tripname_date_video?.  I know I can separate them into different folders and run two ingests - but would like a more streamlined option if possible.

Thanks,
Mark

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Mark,

I'm new to PM and have figured out most requirements for most of my needs except separating file types.  My camera stores photos and videos in the same folder and I intend to use the incremental ingest after each day of my upcoming trip.  Is there a way PM can write jpeg files to one folder and mp4 files to another - preferably under the same job name folders such as tripname_date_photos/tripname_date_video?.  I know I can separate them into different folders and run two ingests - but would like a more streamlined option if possible.

You could use the {mediatype} variable which will evaluate to 'still' for images, and 'video' for video/movie files.  If you want to customize it further, you could use Code Replacement to translate the words (still, video) to another word or phrase of your choosing.

https://docs.camerabits.com/support/solutions/articles/48000358438-list-of-photo-mechanic-variables
https://docs.camerabits.com/support/solutions/articles/48000223660-introduction-to-code-replacements-in-photo-mechanic

HTH,

-Kirk

Offline Max Lemesh

• View Profile