Ulrik
I werent clear with my 3 first options I think:
1. Make it an option to see the pop-up window or not.
2. remove the pop-up window completely for every upload.
3. Option to change the 1.5s to another level.
If the two first ones are not an option (best by far), I need to get some more information on the 3:
The first two options are not possible. The reason it is there is to prevent the user from doing something detrimental to the upload process. This progress dialog appears for as long as it is necessary to copy all of the selected files to a cached location. This prevents things like: the user closing the contact sheet, the user deselecting the images, the user renaming the images, the user deleting the images, the user moving the images to another folder, etc.
1. If 0s it opens always but when does it dissapear again? Only when finished? If only when finished then its not an option as it takes too long time and the automatization software cant handle that.
Yes, only when finished.
2. Can you set it to xxxxx seconds then so it never opens?
This would likely cause more support issues than we're willing to deal with, possibly even for you. You'd have no way to abort the operation if you had to stop (other than force-quitting the application). It would appear that PM is running, but if you tried to click in the Contact Sheet, it would just endlessly beep at you. Users will forget that they made that setting and would kill the app to get out of it misbehaving.
Anyway to suppress it or as above is highly appreciated.
Its all about ensuring the precise thing happens every time so whatever the automatization software do ends with the same.
Understood. Looking at your previous post that spelled out the automation workflow:
Show 1-star photos → Upload to X FTP (using a new shortcut) → Return to contact sheet - Show 2-star photos → Upload to Z FTP → Return
The part "Return to contact sheet", is that part of the automation that Keyboard Maestro does for you?
The reason I ask is that we could add an option to make the Upload progress window always start out minimized. If this were implemented and you used it, then when the "Copying selected Photos..." progress dialog completed, you would be returned to the Contact Sheet automatically. If your macro could just wait until the Contact Sheet became frontmost/active again, then it could continue with the second part. Or if it can't wait like that, you could get the workflow down to two macros, each issuing one upload and then ending. You'd just use the first one and wait for the Contact Sheet to become active, and then use the second one and wait for the Contact Sheet window to become active and then you'd continue doing other things that follow that workflow.
I'm sorry that we can't make the copy phase not have a UI, but we can prevent the upload UI from appearing (you'll see it in the Tasks pane and you can reopen it by double-clicking its entry in the list). I hope that this change could support your automation efforts.
Thanks,
-Kirk