Author Topic: Lost Finder icons  (Read 4082 times)

Offline rcohn

• View Profile
Lost Finder icons
« on: February 20, 2008, 08:54:29 PM »
I'm new to PM and after using PM to enter Metadata for a folder of .psd images, most of the images now have a generic icon. I do have "Create Finder icons during copy, ingest, or save as" checked. I tried Tools>Generate Finder Icons..., but it only worked for a few of the images.

Is there something I'm doing wrong? Or is there a fix?

Thanks for your help.

Ric Cohn

Offline rcohn

• View Profile
Re: Lost Finder icons
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2008, 11:44:24 AM »
I was hoping for a quick answer, but as my problem continues I'll post further details.

I'm using 4.5.3 in Demo Mode on a Dual G5 with OS10.4.11. Here's an example of what causes the Icons to disappear (i.e. change to the generic Photoshop CS3 Icon): I select a group of images in PM, open the ITCP Stationary Pad (Command-I) and click "Apply Stationary to Selected". A dialog opens saying "Applying ITCP Stationary Pad" and shows the progress. As each image's Metadata is updated I can see the Finder Icons revert one-by-one to the Photoshop Generic. I just checked and the same problem is happening on an external Firewire 800 hard drive and on my Main drive. Is this normal?

To confirm: I have "Create Finder icons during copy, ingest or save as" checked. Is there another setting I should change? Could something like a bad Preferences file cause this?

I was really liking Photo Mechanic and was planning on buying it, but I need to know this isn't normal and how to fix it.

Thanks for any help!

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2008, 02:04:59 PM »
Ric,

I was hoping for a quick answer, but as my problem continues I'll post further details.